swype preloaded on new incredibles?General


Last Updated:

  1. plim

    plim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    19
    New Motorola DROID 2 Global details emerge | BGR

    according to a leaked document from verizon re: droid 2 global, it lists that the HTC Incredible has Swype built in.

    can anyone who purchased an incredible recently comment if swype is pre-loaded?

    or, can anyone comment if they've been hearing rumors that the incredible will start getting swype pre-loaded in the future...and if that's the case, if they will somehow distribute it to older incredible users?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    I just bought my wife an Incredible 2 weeks ago and it did not have swype pre-loaded. But it's a definite possibility after swype comes out of beta.
     
  3. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    I bought my Incredible last Friday (10/29) from Best Buy and it did not have swype pre-installed, either.
     
  4. AHanks12

    AHanks12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    12
    just got an incredible for the wife 2 days ago........no swype
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Ditto. I know Motorola purchased the rights to use swype from Samsung so I'm not surprised it's on the phones.
     
  6. Rodent

    Rodent Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    5
    Some lucky wives out there getting a great phone :D
     
  7. Puppa

    Puppa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    93
    Hmm...I wonder if Swype is part of next week's update. You'd think they'd say something about it, though.
     
  8. AHanks12

    AHanks12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ha! I don't think we could be that lucky to get something pre-installed from the update that we actually want on our phone.
     
  9. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    I'm a part of Swype Beta, rooted running Virtuous 3.0.1, my swype quit working not too long ago so I logged in and tried to re-download it. It told me my phone is NOT an Android phone. WTH!?!?
     
  10. AeolianReflex

    AeolianReflex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    73
    There is an update coming next week? How did I miss that !!!
     
  11. euph_22

    euph_22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    595
    When you're flashing you have to remember to uncheck "Install iOs 4?"
     
    jasoraso likes this.
  12. GlueChickeN

    GlueChickeN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bought mine yesterday, 11/4/10,... no swype
     
  13. Puppa

    Puppa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    93
    Looks to me like the source of the chart referenced that indicated that the Incredible had Swype was Motorola, not Verizon. Probably a mistake. Drat!
     
  14. JayCizzo

    JayCizzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    Before clicking the download link make sure you go into your browser settings and check the box to allow mobile sites. It should work after that.
     
    Old Member likes this.
  15. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Hey Cincy, what browser are you using and what is it set to in terms of viewing size? I've had my browser in "Overview mode" and also "Fullscreen mode" and seen the same thing happen.
     
  16. mobile1

    mobile1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    I received a new phone today and no Swype.
     

Share This Page

Loading...