Swype Sept. update - not installingGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. bburgdroid

    bburgdroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using an HTC Eris, 2.1 android and launcher pro.

    I was invited to install the Swype Seoptember update which requires uninstalling the Installer and the Swype app itself as shown here
    https://beta.swype.com/android/welcome/detailed/

    I've followed the the exact process described in the beta faq. I've now tried this 10 times and I get all the way to screen #5 but I press and hold a text field and nada... I'm not asked to select an input method. No app and no Swype keyboard.

    If I check my apps Swype is NOT showing as being installed.

    An office mate is using an Eris, version 2.1 and the standard HTC screens and she's had no luck either.

    Help requested! I've posted also on the Swype forum.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    There is another thread about this http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/175694-latest-swype-beta.html
    But it is interesting that you cannot get it installed at all. Can you write up a step by step of what you are doing? I have had a couple of hiccups installing swype over the different betas (i got in on the original) but nothing like you are describing. If you can do a step by step then maybe i can help.
     
  3. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    Installed great for me, first time I have used it, I think I may actually like it.
     
  4. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    If you're using the new official beta, does it say what version it is? The version number would be at the very bottom of the Swype settings screen. Thanks!
     
  5. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    I'm on the new official version (working fine) - 2.4.44.10912.t100
     
  6. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Thanks! I wanted to see if it's newer than what I already have, and it sure is. I'm installing it now (from the official Swype beta).

    I'm going to try taking out the languages I don't need, though... 4MB is still a little big in my opinion.
     
  7. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    I'm getting an odd problem. When I hit backspace to correct an incorrect Swype guess, then re-type the word, sometimes Swype will combine the two words instead of replacing the incorrect word.
     
  8. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Did you get it to work?
     
  9. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Yes, I got v2.4.44 working with English only.

    And I also figured out how to theme it again. Ever since v1.60 came out, I had trouble getting the trace path to be a different color, but I figured out why: it's in two places in the libSwypeCore.so library now instead of just one, and you have to uninstall, reboot, and reinstall to get the phone to use the new library.

    This time around, I edited the HTC_IME keyboards (created by someone else for v1.25) to use the font that I'm using on my phone:

    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately it's against the rules for me to share this with anyone, but I can share some of the technical knowledge for theming it yourselves if anyone's interested.
     
  10. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Nice work!
     
  11. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    Mine is the same, FWIW a day late and dollar short. :D
     
  12. Romparoo

    Romparoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    74
    I have the newest version but got a "limited functionality" message on start up, something about it not being compatible with my device. I can't Swype, it traces for me but will not type the word. Instead I get a blue rectangle around the entire keyboard that flashes after I swype.

    Any ideas?
     
  13. Romparoo

    Romparoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    74
    I would love to learn.
     
  14. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    Uncheck it from the keyboard settings. Uninstall swype and its installer. Reboot phone. Download fresh installer and then run. Worked for me :)
     
  15. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    thenestor,
    When theming sywpe is it possible to add a .com key like some other keyboards have?
     
  16. facedoc

    facedoc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here with the "limited functionality" message. I installed, but got msg at end of installation that "Swype is already installed on this device." I rebooted, Swype was there in settings (version 2.4.44.10912.t100), but get same exact problem as Romparoo. Can't Swype, only tap. Pretty useless.

    Please post if anyone figures out how to get us back up and running. TIA
     
  17. facedoc

    facedoc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it working. Deactivated Swype via settings first, then Unistalled it, rebooted, then just ran swype installer again.

    so far, looks like it's working.
     
  18. Romparoo

    Romparoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    74
    Thanks, this worked. Swype is back!!
     
  19. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Not to my knowledge. I mean, you could make a button for it, but it wouldn't work.
     
  20. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Basically you take a hacked copy of Swype (no, I will not tell you where to get it), open the APK like a ZIP archive, and edit the images in /assets/keyboards to look however you want (or replace them with keyboards from another version of Swype). The buttons still need to line up right where they already were, of course.

    To change the color of the Swype path, you have to open up /lib/armeabi/libSwypeCore.so in a HEX editor, find the existing path color (DDA25B) and replace it with another HEX-coded BGR color (note that it's blue, green, red, NOT red, green, blue--the order of the numbers is reversed). Do the same for 9B6906 (a darker teal, not sure why).

    Re-zip and auto-sign, uninstall your existing Swype, reboot, and then install the new one.
     
    bberryhill0 likes this.
  21. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    You're welcome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...