Swype, speech to text, and 2.1


Last Updated:

  1. yzingerr

    yzingerr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    Will swype see the speech to text feature too?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just got the 2.1 update and the Swype keyboard doesn't show the microphone key. It jas to be built into the keyboard so Swype will need to update their keyboard to reflect the change.
     
  3. yzingerr

    yzingerr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah I noticed that too, that is why I asked. I switched back to the android keyboard just to test the speech to text!
     
  4. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    48
    The speech to text feature kicks so much ass!
     
  5. XtremeAaron

    XtremeAaron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    19
    I thought it sucked. Probably wasn't talking clearly.
     
  6. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    For me it did suck before the update (in the apps where it worked) now it reacts and works so much better... it's actually impressive.
    J.
     
  7. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Swype has speech-to-text -- you just have to press the Menu key.
     
  8. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    Actually, I think you must be in Handcent when you see that on the menu. That is a (nice) Handcent feature (not Swype) which is why I've used it since I got my phone opening day.
    In other programs that is not the case.
    Swype does need to add the mic to their keyboard OR do something have a long press of the space bar pop out the voice to text.
    J.
     
  9. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    My son saw me using voice-to-text and I got a very rare "Wow" out of him. He isn't impressed too often by tech, as he's grown up in the midst of so much cool stuff...

    I use Swype, so I just switch keyboards if I want to use voice-to-text...takes just a few seconds. Would be nice if Swype would build the feature in...
     
  10. brad03

    brad03 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea I noticed that too. I'm hoping they update it soon, as I have fallen in love with the keyboard, but would like to use speak to text from time to time without having to switch back to the native keyboard.
     
  11. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    You know what, you're exactly right! Thanks for pointing that out. :p
     
  12. John Connor

    John Connor Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    do you have to be rooted to get swype?..
     
  13. boatman

    boatman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    I had swype, tried it, then turned it off. I went back in today to turn it on, and it says my 30 day trial has expired. can someone tell me how to get an update on this, or if i unistall, will it give me 30 more days if i re install?
     
  14. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    No, but it's in a closed beta. They opened it up for beta applications about 3 weeks ago, then closed it.
     
  15. deej36

    deej36 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I LOVE the new voice to text and it seems to be working perfectly; however my auto brightness seems to be a bit dark, but I am sure that will correct over time too. Somehow I lost the comma on my keyboard, but I would rather have voice to text than punctuation...
     
  16. matty1124

    matty1124 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can still get swype... you just have to look for it... i got it last week and love it... but i do wish it had speech to text
     
  17. yzingerr

    yzingerr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    Speech to text, speech to text, speech to text
     
  18. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    everyone with swype should email them at: info@swypeinc.com

    I already did, and if we get enough Droid users to email them maybe they'll either a) update it, or b) include it in the final version (which would be a no-brainer)
     
  19. yzingerr

    yzingerr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    Done! Thx dodger
     
  20. John Connor

    John Connor Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    can you link me where to get it???
     
  21. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    Not a problem, just trying to be helpful.
     
  22. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    I emailed them as well.

    Anyone try and see how long the speech to text will record... it seems like it will go for awhile. I wonder how much it can take?
     
  23. Berkshire5

    Berkshire5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just dumped my Curve 2 for a Droid. I see a lot of peoplel loving the Swype keyboard, is it really that accurate with just your fingers?
     
  24. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    It's amazingly accurate. You don't even have to directly get to all the letters in a word and most times it interprets what you're going for totally correctly, or at the very least the word you want is among the choices.
     
  25. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just tried it, counted from one upwards, first time I counted from 1 to 39 and the voice option just disappeared, second trial just counted to 20 and let it go (worked perfectly), third trial it gave me an error saying something along the lines of "Error too much speech" at 28 (i said the number 28, occurred at time=27 seconds, lol)

    Just did it again, gave the same error at number 27, so I guess that's about the limit (counting from one to 27 ... still pretty dang good if you ask me).
     

Share This Page

Loading...