Swype users, chime in!Tips


Last Updated:

  1. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    113
    How do you make swype know you need two of the same letter at the end of a word? Example, the word you need is "tell" but swype only reads the "tel" so it pops up the box of words to pick from.
     

    Advertisement
  2. PoundSand

    PoundSand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    13
    give it a little swirly motion over the 'l'
     
  3. Adlebo

    Adlebo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have another question. Swype knows to put a space in between words. So why when putting a period in the end of the sentence, doesn't it start the next sentence with a space and capitalized first letter?
     
  4. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    It does on mine. Go to Swype options and make sure that Auto-capitalization is checked.
     
  5. lxy33

    lxy33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    6
    I love this feature!!! I use it more than the keyboard and virtual keyboard.
     
  6. PoundSand

    PoundSand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    13
    drag from period to space, and make sure auto cap is on.

    you can also capitalize any word by dragging from the first letter to above the keyboard, then continuing to swype.
     
  7. Jamar

    Jamar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm just getting used to Swype..as a first timer. It's easier to fat finger the virtual keypad but it is faster than tapping letter by letter. I kinda like it.
     
  8. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    113
    Thank you!!!
     
  9. nchargreed

    nchargreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    12
    I found a neat submenu, it has the up/down, left/right arrows. Just swype from the swype key to the sym key to open this menu.

    The fact that the swype keyboard didn't have arrows was driving me crazy!
     
  10. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    I've really been tying to give swype a chance. I like it better than the stock keyboard, but I think swiftkey might be my favorite. That thing actually predicts your next word, and it is accurate about half the time, if its prediction is incorrect, hit the first letter of the word you want, and it will most likely know exactly what you are talking about. My problem with Swype it that I forget the layout of the keyboard mid word and fingers are blocking the letters, if I lift my fingers, it starts another word. I'm not sure I text enough to fully master swype, I wish I could.
     
  11. PoundSand

    PoundSand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    13
    the trick is just to keep going with it- you'll probably get close enough where it'll know what you want. ;D
     

Share This Page

Loading...