Sync Blackberry to EVOSupport

Last Updated:

1. grosser

grosser Active Member This Topic's Starter

Hello everyone,

I am writing this for my friend who has an EVO.

He just replaced his Blackberry Tour with the EVO and wants to know how he can sync or transfer all of the blackberry stuff onto his new EVO. Stuff like music, calendar, photos, ringer, documents, etc. I already have him set up on google gmail so I am not sure if that make a difference.

Any thoughts would be great. I have no experience with BB; I came from windows mobile.

Again, thanks!

Advertisement
  2. I want my EVO

I want my EVO Well-Known Member

I came from a BB Pearl and I was able to sync up all of my stuff, but i went about it a bit differently then some people would recommend.

I started off by exporting my BB contacts/ Calendar and info to .csv formatted file. From there Gmail wouldn't read it so i had Yahoo bring the info in. From Yahoo i spit out the format that Gmail would read, I cant recall what format that is off the top of my head.

Once in Gmail I was able to Edit the contacts.

It took me all of 20 minutes for this and its not the most straight forward way but it worked for me.

If you want it to sync up to the phone then Menu-> Settings-> Accounts & Sync -> Google & then click on Sync Now.

That will bring in all the contacts that the Gmail/ Google Account has.

As for music and Documents. Have him connect it to his/ her PC. Back it up then hook the Evo up and bring it in. That should do it for that stuff.

As for the ringers im not sure about. I didnt bring them over so im not sure if it will or will not work.

Try that out and let us know how it goes.

3. laredo7mm

laredo7mm Well-Known Member

Interesting, GMail read my .csv from my BB just fine. Go to Contacts >> More actions >> Import and then a dialog box pops up asking for a .csv or vCard file.

4. I want my EVO

I want my EVO Well-Known Member