• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Sync Gmail groups to telephone

chrisi99

Lurker
Jul 14, 2010
Hi there!

I have been using gmail extensively for the last 3 years. I have tons of contacts in many different groups on my account.

If I select the gmail account on my galaxy it does not recognize the groups and it throws all my contacts into one group with the name of my gmail account.

Is there a way (an application) to fix this?

kind regards
Chris

I'm having the same problem.

This is my first time using Android; is the "Contacts" app on the Samsung Captivate the same thing as "People" app I see mentioned online? Places online said the People app lets you choose which groups to sync contacts from (google -> phone). As mentioned by the OP, the Samsung doesn't seem to have an option that allows this.

Can I install the People app on the Samsung, and replace the Samsun version of the same thing ("Contacts")?

Upvote 0
Hi, I have the same problem. Also if I try to create a group on the Galaxy S that's already on my GMail account it won't let me (saying it's already in use) even though it doesn't show it. Groups created on Galaxy S also don't show up on my GMail account.

As if that wasn't bad enough, I can't put any of my GMail account contacts into groups on the phone; they just don't appear when I try, and I don't see any way to mark my GMail contacts as Phone contacts as well!!!

Any ideas anyone? I just got my Galaxy S and whilst it's a fine phone, this contacts thing is really getting to me particularly because from time to time I need to send texts to groups, but if I can't get the groups thing to work properly...grrrr.

Upvote 0
Here's what I've found for what its worth: