sync your music collection to android


Last Updated:

  1. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    Ok before you start salivating and jumping up and down like a hysterical clown, read the following disclaimer

    "At the moment you can not do this, but very soon you will. In fact it is being developed as we speak"

    Still interested? Read on

    Mozilla, our (second) favourite web browser has had an open source media library and player for some time ( called songbird ). The interface looks cunningly similar to i-tunes, and keeping in tradition with mozilla's theme and addon creation the plugins, themes and addons are pouring in.

    Support for extrnal USB devices like mp3 players, cellphones and PDA's is coming very soon, in the next development phase. Which means one thing for you and me, the ability to sync our media collection with our G1's

    Keep an eye on songbird, it could be the answer to some of our wishes
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    ...or if you have a mac or run linux this already does the work for you
     
  3. randel77

    randel77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is good news. Banshee has got their osx version done but still no windows version:confused: What I really want is full automation. So when I plug in my g1 everything syncs without any input from me. I really don't see the point of having to mount my g1.
     
  4. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    i seem to have double posted a thread, can a mod merge or remove the other one please?

    sorry
     
  5. ChicagoPete

    ChicagoPete Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    MediaMonkey already has the ability to sync with the G1. The software recognizes the phone as a mass storage device once you mount the SD card and uses the Device ID on the phone to differentiate the G1 from other mass storage devices. Then you can set up whatever media files you want to sync to the G1 automatically, just as you would any other PMP.

    This can all be done with the free version.
     
    Adad likes this.
  6. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    Nice find, shame the good features aren't free and double shame its windows only. I might have to give it a try on my win 7 box to see how it fares. Cheers :)
     
  7. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    Banshee have a Linux version, Ive been playing around with it a bit. I'm sure you can download the source and use cygwin to compile it for windows.
     
  8. ChicagoPete

    ChicagoPete Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    The free version is actually quite robust (here's the comparison) and does pretty much everything I need it to do. I will say that I don't use it for playing back audio, as I have a Roku SoundBridge hooked up to my stereo system for that. I use it only for ripping, organizing, tagging, burning, and syncing my collection.

    I can understand the disappointment regarding the lack of multi-platform support, but "I'm a PC" and it doesn't impact me :)

    Good luck on your search for your perfect solution!
     
  9. willamlholla

    willamlholla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    wtf...does anybody know how to patch or have the patch so the phone will show up cuz i've been look'n for the past 3 hours....AAAHHHH
     
  10. derkk

    derkk Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this sync playlists? That's my biggest problem. I can my music over fine, but can't get my playlists to transfer. It's a pain the arse trying to create playlists within Android.
     
  11. ChicagoPete

    ChicagoPete Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I seem to remember a setting in the device options menu regarding playlists, but I'm not sure. I don't use playlists, so I can't be very helpful, sorry.
     
  12. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    The only one thing stopping me from getting Media Monkey is the lack of genre support in the free version. I got very pedantic with my music collection and organised everything into genre/artist/album order
     
  13. JosephMeyer

    JosephMeyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been able to sync using Windows Media Player, but it is scarcely flawless. I don't expect to get album artwork, but about half of the files are unplayable--get the error message "Sorry, the player does not support this type of audio file." Trying to play a specific track from "Songs" is totally random.

    Not quite there, I'd say. But then, we live in a beta universe now, don't we?
     
  14. SirVilhelm

    SirVilhelm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am sorry but MediaMonkey is very poor. It will only put your songs on the root of your SD card no matter what settings you have in MM. I contacted their support and they responded saying that its a known but they won't have time to address it.
     
  15. BirdieMN

    BirdieMN Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    That's not true at all. You just have to adjust where you want the files sent in the device configuration on MediaMonkey.
     
  16. SirVilhelm

    SirVilhelm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    3
    No matter what setting I use it will always put my music on the root of my SD card. Support told me this is a known issue. Say what you want but by their own accord theyadmit its a problem
     
  17. drmcstford

    drmcstford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. LastFrontierLabs

    LastFrontierLabs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used Salling Software to sync.
     
  19. NowVoyager

    NowVoyager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    599
  20. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    DoubleTwist sucked just a wee bit for me as it wouldn't ever get all the music; Drag & drop works GREATEST for me;)
     
  21. arglebargle

    arglebargle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1

    I followed the instructions on the MM thread posted earlier, it synced fine. But I am getting the 'Sorry, the player does not support this type of audio file' message.

    The music, playlists and album art copied over, but it cannot be played.

    Edit to add.. all mp3s of varying bit rates but nothing fancy
     
  22. Super Noob

    Super Noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    48
    I've used MediaMonkey for a good while, it used to be recommended alot on the anythingbutipod forum.

    Anyway, I don't use it to sync it up because I've always used the drag-n-drop method, but Mediamonkey started supporting Android phones last year.

    I plugged in my Evo, then set connection type as "Disk Drive".
    I then started MM, and saw the android drive on the right-hand side. Right-click it and choose "configure device" and go from there.

    MediaMonkey Free Media Jukebox, Music Manager, CD Ripper & Converter
     
  23. donjazzy

    donjazzy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    doubletwist works like magic and it automates quite a bit for you.
     
  24. gerberman

    gerberman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    I use tunesync which syncs with Itunes playlists over wifi
     
  25. load97

    load97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    I might have to try that app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...