Syncing Facebook Contacts in FroYo


Last Updated:

  1. mrothe

    mrothe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.
    I wasn't certain which forum to post this in but since the issue is on my Hero I decided here was a good bet.

    Sorry if I've missed a thread already asking this, but I have recently flashed my HTC Hero with FroYo (VillainROM Froyd).
    I have logged into my Facebook account and enabled contact syncing only for contacts already in my address book.
    Most of my contacts were synced with FB back in 1.5 so have the "<sn>id..." bit already in the notes, but it seems this has no use now. Only contacts who have their phone numbers published on facebook (so maybe 10% of my friends) are linked. I can enable all Facebook contacts to sync but that just adds 560 people to my contacts and still doesn't link the google contacts on my phone.
    Unlike in 1.5 there doesn't seem to be any option to manually link a contact with their FB profile, unless I'm missing something.
    Anybody got any advice?
    Thanks, Martin
     

    Advertisement
  2. maddog497

    maddog497 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have been using VillainRom Froyd now for a couple of days and have had no issues with syncing FB info.

    Try uninstalling your face book account and then reinstall it.
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Really, this should be in the All Things Root section, since it's a custom ROM we're discussing. So I've moved it across for you.

    The normal froyd facebook sync doesn't work for me if I don't have them listed by the exact same name. But, if it's only pictures you're interested in, an app called SyncMyPix will sync them all for you.
     
  4. mrothe

    mrothe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I've tried changing the names but that didn't appear to make any difference. The photos is the main reason I want the sync so I'll try SyncMyPix, thaks for the tip ;)
     
  5. messyhead

    messyhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Facebook Sync wasn't working in the original release of the ROM, but apparently has been fixed in the newer versions. What one are you using?
     
  6. HTCblinx

    HTCblinx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    to manually link the contacts first

    go to your contacts
    press menu
    Display options
    view all facebook and all googlemail

    Then to link the contacts
    click on one with a phone number
    press menu
    press edit
    press menu again
    and then press join
    select the facebook contact you want to join it with

    Its a pain in teh arse but its the only way! (other than changing contact names, which takes just as long)

    hope that helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...