• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Sync'ing Music and Playlists on Galaxy S3

rafian

Jul 9, 2012
Folks,

I was frustrated sync'ing music and playlists on Galaxy S3. Basically I wanted to simply copy all my music folders and playlists to Galaxy S3. And then do the same incrementally thru some kinda automation tools. It's usually one-way sync since I don't make any changes on the Phone (like creating playlists). Occasionally though, I have my friends push music to my phone. I make it a point to copy that to my PC the next time I connect my phone to my PC.

After couple of days of reading and actually trying to setup my phone with music and playlists, I figured that the fastest way to sync music and playlists reliably is to do the creation, setup and sync manually. Since I am a hard core geeky coder I find it easy to by-pass the Kies software.

NOTE:
- If you're not familiar with using the command prompt, MP3Tag tool, editing text files using macros, etc., you might find this process extremely cumbersome. Better stop reading!
- The steps listed in this post are intented for a user to create playlists, copy music and playlists to the phone, evolve a process (with the help of tools/code/scripts) that works for him/her from scratch. If you have your music and stuff already on your phone do not follow these steps unless you really want to start fresh - read: setup music all over again.
- Read the whole post before executing any of the steps
- I am not responsible for any damages caused to you or your phone by following some or all of the steps below
- I have tried this only with my phone - Galaxy S3 International version with stock OS and Apps.

Knowing well that Kies doesn't allow you to sync playlists to the Galaxy S3, it is best to copy the playlists to the phone manually. The rest of this post will guide you in doing that and much more.

Step-by-step process:

1. Ready your music folder: