T Mobile 3G coverage and general Internet performance......


Last Updated:

  1. PJD007

    PJD007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    First off I have to say that I'm very impressed with the stock browser but I have noticed some issues with connectivity.

    When I'm connected using HSDPA the browser performance is pretty good but of course I would prefer 3G but so far I've not had much 3G connectivity (in SE or central London).

    Do T Mobile publish areas where 3G should be working ?

    What I have noticed is that on occasion it seems the phone is trying to renegotiate it's connection (during browsing) and re-attempts to connect via 3G, sometimes this then stops browsing from working entirely and it can take minutes before you can browse to the next page.

    I'm guessing this is just a network issue and I'll have to live with it but just wondered if anyone else has experienced this.

    ps. I'm running the latest firmware.
     

    Advertisement
  2. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    It's an issue that you'll find is talked about a LOT on the T-Mobile support forums. T-Mobile are claiming there's no issue if you speak to them and the T-Mobile guys on the forum itself seem to be pretty clueless. It was a major problem for G2/Hero owners and seems to be an issue with Desire owners as well.
     
  3. bluebirds

    bluebirds Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1

    Why would you prefer 3G? HSDPA is much faster than 3G.

    Guide to GSM, GPRS, EDGE, 3G and HSDPA - Clove Technology
     
  4. PJD007

    PJD007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah ok I wasn't sure which was better.

    Ok so I've set the network mode to WCDMA only which I gather will stop it from using 2/3G but the phone is still always initially trying to use 3G.

    Is the issue people were having with other HTC phones ?
     
  5. brownie1111

    brownie1111 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    You dont seem to understand the lingo.

    WCDMA is 3G & HSPDA.
    GSM is 2G and GPRS or Edge.
     
  7. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
  8. brownie1111

    brownie1111 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    LOL, what a knobhead I am....................I've been sat there for a couple of days with an H in the notification bar thinking I was getting a degraded performance over 3G. :eek: :eek: :eek:

    Give me a bunch of servers and a SAN anyday. :D
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    LOL just set your notification as the T-mobile 'ding' from the adverts, and see how popular you are ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...