T-mobile G1 can I goto 2.1 or 2.2 ROM?


Last Updated:

  1. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is there any roms out there that I can upgrade my son's G1 from 1.6 to either 2.1 or 2.2 with step by step guides?

    Many thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    25
    Start here. Read the first post carefully and take it slow.
     
  3. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi thanks for this, however I just don't know where to start!
    I have rom'd phones in the past no problem but this sounds difficult.

    Step 1 unlock/root your G1......any ideas?
     
  4. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Can anyone assist me in doing this it looks an absolute nightmarem surely there is an easier version?
     
  5. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yes, it can be a nightmare. Things can go wrong in ways where you will have to rely on your own technical instinct and ability to troubleshoot and read existing documentation/discussions.

    Not trying to be funny here, but flashing ROMs and similar hacks are not something one should do unless:

    1. you are comfortable with the technology; and,
    2. willing to destroy your phone and shrug it off if that happens.

    In post #1 of the link above there was a line that said: "Please visit the CyanogenMod Wiki for step-by-step installation walkthroughs and tons of other useful information (emphasis added)."

    That is the repository of best info about flashing the CM ROM. Post #1 above was by CM himself. There is easy-learnng-curve approach. Looking at some youtube videos may help.
     
  6. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks fratermus, and i totally agree withyou but I am confident, have done lots of phones in the past even my desire theother week went easy, but for some reason i just cannot fathom this one out!
     
  7. ultrakiasu

    ultrakiasu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had tried flashing rooted 1.6 all the way up to 2.2.
    Boy, spent so much effort reading up all the info, took all the precaution measures from bricking.. in the end, i got a phone with some fancy interface, but sux in usability. Sluggish, and in many instance, keep having errors launching apps.

    Now I wish there is tutorial to revert back to 1.6 which make my phone a phone, instead of a pretty junk.
     
  8. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Latest news is that my G1 is stuck on the G1 startup screen nothing will work at all.
    Any ideas?
     
  9. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    25
    Back to recovery, and reflash your latest nandroid backup. That will get it running.

    In my experience, a stuck screen like that was eventually resolved by me remembering to wipe data and caches before flashing a ROM.
     
  10. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    I cannot get to recovery screen, none of the keypress's work at all.
    just a G1 screen and that's it.
     
  11. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    25
    Even when you hold the HOME screen while powering up? If you can't get to recovery then I'm out of ideas.
     
  12. Baggy

    Baggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    19
    try powering the phone off
    hold home and power together until
    you booting into recovery


    ps did this happen when you tried dangerSPL?
     
  13. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi it just powers on with G1 screen.

    dont think i got to dangerspl mode! need to dig out the instructions i was following.
     
  14. Baggy

    Baggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    19
    so even when you hold home and power it still just powers to the G1 screen
    dangerspl is called this because it can brick the phone, but if used right lets you put Android 2.1 and even 2.2 froyo. its the SPL from the HTC magic and some radios aren't to be used with it.

    try holding power + camera see if you can get into fastboot
    if you can't boot into recovery or fastboot, i'm sorry to say it may be bricked i hope its not.

    can you post the guide you used cos they may not call it 'Danger'SPL
    and if you could post some video of your problem it may help

    this may be of interest
    CONFIRMED!! BRICKS: Radio and SPL + New SAFETY theory - xda-developers
     

Share This Page

Loading...