T-Mobile G2 in Canada?General


Last Updated:

  1. shaspefu

    shaspefu New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,

    I'm interested in buying the T-Mobile G2, but being in Canada, the only 'official' way to get it, according to T-Mobile, is to cross the border and buy it in person.

    Since making that kind of trip is a bit overkill my other option is to buy it on eBay, which T-Mobile says they won't support. I've read that after buying a phone from T-Mobile, however, you still have to activate the IMEI.

    So my question is, how can I get this phone and use it in Canada? Is it enough to just be unlocked?
     

    Advertisement
  2. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    have any friends in the US? have one of them buy it for you, then mail it to you
     
  3. shaspefu

    shaspefu New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, I am friendless :(
     
  4. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    how far are you from the US??? sometimes a few hour drive does a mind good.
     
  5. LickTheEnvelope

    LickTheEnvelope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    23
    Not sure why you'd get the G2 for Canada as it will only run on Edge on any carrier in Canada... better off to buy the Desire Z through bell or a 3rd party when it's available on 850/1900 bands on Nov 3rd...

    EDIT: My bad apparently the Tmobile G2 unlocked might work at full speeds on Mobilcity in Toronto.
     
  6. funkadesi

    funkadesi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    the G2 WILL run on 3G/HSPA+ as long as teh carrier supports both 1700 AND 2100 MHz AWS Band...
     
  7. LickTheEnvelope

    LickTheEnvelope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes but none of the big carriers (Rogers, Bell, Telus) in Canada run 1700/2100. All three run 850/1900.

    The only two carriers in Canada I know of that use 1700/2100 are Wind Mobile and Mobilcity which is are smaller carriers only in populated cities (Mobilcity right now is only around Torono).
     

Share This Page

Loading...