T-MOBILE HTC HD2? huh??


Last Updated:

  1. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    I personally own a captivate, but my brother in law called me up said hes obtained a T Mobile HTC HD2. I cant find any info on it and I dont see a thread for it on here. Hes saying something about it having Windows Mobile S/W im not seeing anything about that either..man im lost.
     

    Advertisement
  2. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Official page

    What don't you understand? It doesn't have a page here because it runs WinMo, and this is an Android forum. ;)

    It can run Android, but I'm not sure it's worth having its own subforum.
     
  3. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    It's a sucky phone even though I got it for free.
     
  4. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    And you didn't put Android on it...because?



    The HD2 was well known for the Snapdragon processor (the first phone with it, I think) and it's amazing display.
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    the hardware is great the winmo software is whats terrible. You can slap android on that thing though
     
  6. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    I was getting random reboots, horrible battery life and it was very unstable. My camera was pretty much unusable.

    I haven't tried the new Desire HD port though.
     
  7. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Reading up on this now. He hates the Win Mo S/W
     
  8. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Anyone have a link for a easy simple tut for porting over the android s/w..theres so many different ways its crazy. And some people say froyo is unstable some say it runs decent on the HD2? Lost so lost
     
  9. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    158
    i havent done it myself but a friend of mine just ported cyanogen mod onto his hd2 and he loves his phone again... he liked it alright when it was running win mo but he raves every time he sees me about me talking to him about porting android onto it. for the record he has had no problem with froyo, he's already swapped out a couple of roms on his phone.
     
  10. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is gonna sound dumb and make my noobness very obvious. Please correct me if im wrong... You take the HD2, dump on the Android OS (froyo) using ??? and once thats done it will work like our phones out of the box and then you can add custom roms like (cyanogen mod) afterwards ?

    I see alot of people talking about dual booting, what if you dont need the dual boot and just want to run froyo only??
     
  11. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    158
    i actually dont know the process he used but he backed his windows rom up onto his sd card and using the htc bootloader dumped a cyanogen rom onto his hd2. he is also thinking about trying out the new htc desire hd rom with the new sense ui. basically he re-programmed his phone from a windows phone to full blown android running cyanogenmod 6.0

    :)

    edit: and to make matters better, he's a full blown android convert having had it on his phone for less than 24 hours. he says he will never go back to windows after having used android. :D
     
  12. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
  13. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    158
    you might have more luck over at xda forums as those were some of the first guys to start hacking the hd2 to port over android to it. ;)
     
  14. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah I was thinking about it...wanted to absorb as much info here as possible before I go over there and start asking dumb questions :)
     
  15. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    You can put Android on your iPod Touch/iPhone too.
     
  16. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    I thought the hd2 was a solid phone. I'm surprised HTC didn't make an andriod version is it.
     
  17. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    1,542

Share This Page

Loading...