• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [T-Mobile] S4 gets warm when charging

mike28

Android Expert
Dec 20, 2010
Tampa
Sorry guys I'm new to this phone so gotta ask around. I noticed that when charging the phone phone gets somewhat warm on the ear area right towards the top of the phone to the point where I have to take it off my ear has anyone experienced this? I read that there were some s4 with phone getting hot

Thanks for replying quickly James well got the phone 3 days ago brand new from tmobile store, haven't drop it or no other type of issue it's only doing this while charging my wife has one as well and hers was also warm but it seems the issue on her phone is going away, I'm charging with the original charger too I'm running a rom and still is doing this I only have a few apps downloaded as well I will keep an eye on it and maybe do a factory reset which I did when I installed the rom but will keep an eye on it thanks again :thumbup:

Upvote 0
The phone's most sensive component is its Li-Ion battery.
If you're worried about the S4's temperature you'd install a battery monitor like Battery Monitor Widget for to measure the temperature of the battery (by time on a graph).

The Li-Ion battery's temperature operating range is:
for discharging -20C (-4F) to +60C (+140F).
for charging 0C (+32F) to +45C (+113F).

Harry

Reactions: mike28
Upvote 0
In my experience phone heating has always been undervolting. For this reason i always try to stay away from custom kernels. My phone also get a little warm when I'm tethering and charging it at the same time but that's to be expected.

Are you using the phone while charging? If so what apps are you running?
Are you on a rom that includes a custom kernel?

Switch to a stock one and see if still heats up. When you charge hit your task manager and kill all downloaded apps. Don't kill system apps cause theyll just start right back up.