[T-Mobile] S4 Google Edition rom


Last Updated:

  1. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    This is the stock rom for the S4 Google Edition phone that went on sale yesterday.

    [​IMG]

    It is blazing fast. My LTE even works better. I also have about a gig, I think, more free space than on Samsung's stock rom.

    If you want to try it,

    Download rom
    Download ktoonsez's kernel for TouchWiz
    Download SuperSu for rooting

    Put all 3 zip files on your sd card.

    If you don't have a nandroid backup already, make one first.

    Wipe everything (see this post if you have TWRP)
    Install the rom. Don't reboot
    Install the kernel.
    Install SuperSU.
    Wipe Cache and dalvik and reboot.

    Have fun. :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    Looking at that screen, the fact that it says LTE and not 4G is different than AOSP. Normally you get E for EDGE, H for HSPA, and 4G for LTE. Minor, but different.
     
  3. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900

    That may have something to do with the kernel I'm running, maybe? I don't think this is totally google stock. Photosphere isn't on here. Although the apk is supposed to work for it.
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    I'm not sure, but I was pretty sure that status bar icons are built into the system.
     
  5. Blackout720

    Blackout720 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    74
    Will this work on any other carrier? or just t-mobile? also i flashed just the Rom its self and it worked no need for the other two files.
     
  6. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    In not sure. I know it works on the i9505. That's where this first started.

    Yeah, I just saw someone else say they didn't have to flash a kernel. You're still rooted too?
     
  7. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
  8. Blackout720

    Blackout720 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    74
    I use the Twrp recover thing so yeah it flashed Superuser on its own for me.
    Im using th T-mobile usa and my phone use to be m919 now its 19505
     
  9. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900

    Yeah mine says in settings its now a GT-i9505G. :D
     
  10. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
  11. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
  12. caloyzki

    caloyzki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    11
    hi guys, where i can see on my phone,if it has a snapdragon processor? just curious, just want to see.
     
  13. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900

    I don't think there is somewhere actually on the phone that shows that. If you have the Tmobile S4, then you have a Qualcomm Snapdragon 600.
     
  14. caloyzki

    caloyzki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    11
    ok thanks. yes tmobile s4. btw have you tried this rom? how is it?
     
  15. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Yes I tried it. Its very fast. If you like all the things that came with the S4 you may not like it though. It doesn't have any of the cool stuff.

    If you want to try it, I would suggest the Infamous S4
     
  16. caloyzki

    caloyzki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    11
     
  17. Blackout720

    Blackout720 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    74
  18. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    To expand on this, you are right as it is not completely AOSP, it still has some TW framework remaining as that is how the IR blaster still works, the TW camera may work also but I dont know if anyone has tried it. So not completely vanilla android, but its as close as youll get while keeping the IR blaster etc
     
  19. reilus

    reilus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    99
    I get LTE and 4G on my stock rom. It depends on the network for me...
     
  20. Captain Mal 78

    Captain Mal 78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
     
  21. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    I don't know. I'm looking forward to finding that out myself. :D
     
  22. alextop30

    alextop30 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    123
    This is pretty awesome. I really didn't see anyone reporting any bugs so technically we get to run different firmware on our phone. Right on now the next step is to be able to do that out of the box!
     
  23. alextop30

    alextop30 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    123
    Are you guys receiving the 4.3 update or the rom is not self updating?
     
  24. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,888
    Likes Received:
    13,072
    I don't think its been released yet

    Edit:
    Just got caught on my android news sites :eek:

    Ignore that :D
     
  25. DaemonSambe

    DaemonSambe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arghh. My 4.3 upgrade keeps failing. The download comes down automatically (105mb), requests permission to restart and update. It then reboots into recovery, but nothing runs. This is likely because I use TWRP recovery of course. And I have no idea where the download saves to do it manually.
    Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...