T-Mobile USA with Unlocked Phones


Last Updated:

  1. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    I don't like the selection of phones that are subsidized on T-mobile. So I will go with an unlocked phone.
    -
    What bandwidth specs should I look for, if I want a 3G/3.5G phone. i want the Xperia x10.
    -
    I tried to get a milestone (droid unlocked), but the ones they were selling would only work with EDGE. (Are there milestones that work with t-mobile use's network)
    -
    AWS - ? Isn't that 1700 bandwidth, so If I get a phone that has UTMS 1700, doesn't that work with T-mobile USA?
    -
    2100 MHz - Isn't this T-mobile USA's frequency. If a phone has 2100, but not 1700, does this mean I can get 3G sometimes in certain locations, and not in others.
    -
    UTMS? What should I search for?
    -
    HSDPA? What should I search for?
    -
    Thanks! :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
  3. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks. So for example on the Sony Ericsson Xperia x10, if the phone says:

    GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
    UMTS/HSPA 900/1700/2100

    Will it be compatible?
     
  4. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
  5. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
  6. sirsilent

    sirsilent Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to know this too. The Samsung Galaxy S for example has 2100 but no 1700. Will it work with T-Mobile's 3G?
     
  7. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    Read Howie's post. Still cant figure it out?
     
  8. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    sometimes Band 4 is called Quad Band in other markets. :)
     
  9. jdmfa5

    jdmfa5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    19
    You can also look for AWS compatible phones:

    Phones off the top of my head that are compatible with T-Mo 3G:

    SE X10
    Samsung Galaxy
    Pharos(Windows Mobile Device)
    Nokia N900
    Nexus One
     
  10. elchingon666

    elchingon666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    17

    No, it MUST have both to use 3G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...