t9 keyboard being used by anyone?


Last Updated:

  1. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    Anyone using a t9 keyboard?
     

    Advertisement
  2. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
  3. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    thanks snovv......pus one rep
     
  4. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    Installed but getting Force Close every 5 seconds, not working with cupcake.
     
  5. jfritzs2

    jfritzs2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    56
    You get a Qwerty keyboard with Better Keyboard, but swipe to the left and the keyboard changes to T9. Swipe left again, back to Qwerty, swipe right you get numbers and symbols. Its a really great keyboard app overall, I believe much better than the stock one with the MyTouch.
     
  6. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    Looks pretty bad judging by the comments. And probably a battery killer.

    Sick of getting ripped off, most android apps suck.
    No trial...no thanks.

    There's got to be something out there, can't believe htc doesn't have keypad like I used on my 8525...
    Mytouch starting to look like a disappointment to me after 1 day...
     
  7. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    ...and everyone is getting force close with the sense keyboard...
     
  8. jfritzs2

    jfritzs2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    56
    Just go buy it, try it out and see what you think. You can delete the app and be refunded your money. You get 1 day to trial out any app, if you don't like it then you get refunded. I have loved Better Keyboard, for me at least it doesn't kill my battery. It does run in the background, but my battery isn't affected.

    I would say give it a try and then see what you think. I've tried the default keyboard, TouchPal, and Better Keyboard, and of those, Better Keyboard is the best and most customizable.

    Don't count MyTouch out, its a great phone, you just need to set it to your liking and then it'll be the perfect phone, that does take some time, but its always possible.
     
  9. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    Great info, thanks.

    I loaded Handcent t9 keyboard, its free and very good, currently beta so it works with all system apps and Handcent SMS.

    Great app.
     
  10. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    You're right, had to tweak, I am absolutely loving it now.

    That hero was horrible in every aspect, thought Mytouch was heading in the same direction.
     
  11. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ive got better loaded but t9 will only put the first letter when I type letter combos like its multi tap. Predictive works fine when its not set to t9.
     
  12. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    haa its multi tap...junk...uninstalled.
     
  13. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am puzzled by your comment regarding the Hero, when compared to MyTouch.

    I have service with both Sprint and T-Mobile, and have both the Hero and MyTouch 3G.

    Over the MyTouch, the Hero has a light sensor, glass screen, higher capacity battery, better camera, Sense UI (which can be disabled), HTC EZInput/T9, 3.5mm audio connector, and 288Mb RAM compared to 192 of the MyTouch. The Hero feels like it's better finished when compared to the pasticky feel of the MyTouch. Other than that, their specifications, even layout, is very similar.

    What about the MyTouch do you like better, when compared to the Hero? What makes you say that the Hero is junk while "loving" the MyTouch?

    Thanks.
     
  14. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    Maybe it was a defective unit or battery, actually in hindsight, I get almost no Sprint signal at my house, so the Hero trying to constantly acquire a 3g signal was killing the battery.

    I set in on my kitchen counter with no apps running and the battery was dead in a few hours.

    But the real reason I went with Tmo is async voice/data is a requirement for me.

    I agree with you on the comparisons, but I do like the look and feel of the MyTouch, it just fits my hand better.
     
  15. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ok!!!! Touch Input now working with Donut, works perfectly.
     
  16. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for your reply. How does the MyTouch do async voice/data in ways that the Hero does not? I'm curious about that.

    And yes, poor signal will kill batteries. I have poor Sprint reception at my house. Using an Airave, it made all the difference.

    The other plus for the Hero is multi-touch. I like the option of pinch and drag. I like the MyTouch as well, I just wish it was equipped like the Hero.

    Which T9 did you go with? HTC EZInput or TouchPal? Thanks.
     
  17. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    The async v/d allows me to talk to someone on the phone while surfing the web, checking email, while I'm tethered from my laptop. I'm using the above mentioned link for input, which is very nice. It's the HTC keypad, shows up as "Touch Input". Only thing I don't like is it has it's own dictionary and if you add a word accidentally, there is no way to delete it from the dictionary.
     
  18. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for your comments. Yes, UMTS is nice. One of the nicest features of UMTS is simultaneous voice and data. I wish Sprint implemented the the same on EVDO Rev. A (simultaneous voice/data theoretically possible). The only problem though, is that T-Mobile's UTMS/3G coverage is not great. When in EDGE, there goes the voice/data together.

    Did you end up getting the Fender Edition?

    How is the battery life between the Hero and MyTouch3G? The MyTouch has a 1340 mAH battery, same as the Diamond and Touch Pro(1). The Hero has a 1500 mAH battery, same as the Touch Pro(2). Unless the SenseUI, CDMA, and Sprint bloatware makes a huge difference, I'd imagine the MyTouch would have worse battery life?

    Thanks again.
     
  19. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    The Fender was canceled so I ended us with a merlot mytouch and I'm loving it, battery is fine.
    Sprint signal is spotty in Charlotte and virtually no signal at my house
    .
    I also hate that rubber coating on the hero.
     

Share This Page

Loading...