Taking My Phone Abroad


Last Updated:

  1. SCFC_Messiah

    SCFC_Messiah Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    On Sunday I leave the UK to spend a week in Holland. I want to take my HTC Desire to use as an MP3 player, however, although I have unlimited internet here in the UK, I understand that Orange charge high data rates should I access the internet outside of the UK - so, I'm afraid that the phone will automatically access the internet for various things (as it does) and I will end up being charged for it. On top of this, I don't want to be bothered with phone calls either (it is a holiday after all!!)

    Am I correct in presuming that if the phone is left on 'airplane' mode for the duration of the holiday, this switches off both mobile and internet signal meaning 1. the phone can't access the net and 2. I wont receive any calls?

    Noob question I know, but I'd just like to be sure

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. Killyouridols

    Killyouridols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yep. And WiFi. Can you Remove the Sim too as a backup? Does that allow access to the Music App still?

    KYI
     
    SCFC_Messiah likes this.
  3. SCFC_Messiah

    SCFC_Messiah Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brilliant, thanks for the quick response! :)


    What if I wanted to keep WiFi turned on though? Any other options as opposed to airplane mode?
     
  4. Thormier

    Thormier Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, i just came back from Greece and for the whole holiday i used my phone in airplane mode and used wifi all the time with no extra charges this month on orange =]
     
  5. Killyouridols

    Killyouridols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try 'Airplane mode Wi-Fi Tool' by Daniel Velazco in the Market ;)

    KYI
     
  6. SCFC_Messiah

    SCFC_Messiah Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, so WiFi is still active in Airplane mode then?
     
  7. SCFC_Messiah

    SCFC_Messiah Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    aha! Thanks again
     
  8. Killyouridols

    Killyouridols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not on mine it isn't. Never Fully connects. Although mine is a Rooted ROM so take it with a pinch of salt :D

    KYI
     
  9. DjLukeW

    DjLukeW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    25
    you can get a 1 week package if you needed it.

    but theres an option in networks allowing you to switch off data roaming so you could still recieve texts
     
  10. SCFC_Messiah

    SCFC_Messiah Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried it on my phone (why didn't I do that in the first place? :rolleyes::D) and WiFi still works when in Airplance mode

    Thanks guys, appreciated as always
     
  11. Thormier

    Thormier Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep you can use Wifi on Airplane mode =)
     
  12. Killyouridols

    Killyouridols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Mine is FUBAR then :D

    I'm Refraining from Commenting anymore! :eek:

    KYI
     
  13. mikebell

    mikebell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    24
    If WiFi is on and the phone is put into Airplane mode, it will actually turn the WiFi off.

    There are some inbuilt widgets for enabling or disabling Airplane mode, WiFi, Mobile network, GPS and Bluetooth. They are quite nicely presented and clearly show the current activation status...

    What you want is Add Widget | Settings | All of those, and a bit of spare space on a home screen.
     
  14. bigt

    bigt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    42
    I took mine to Spain, just made sure the 'use data when roaming' option was unticked. There is quite alot of wifi abroad (sweeping statement!)
     
  15. nickarcher

    nickarcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was in Greece a few weeks ago.

    All you need to do it go to

    Settings
    Wireless & Networks
    Mobile Networks

    Make sure 'Date Roaming' is un-ticked. I did this and you can still use it as an old-school phone with calls and texts, but wont connect to 3g/the net to get expensive charges. You can then switch on Wi-Fi at any hot-spots you encounter. This will then update your weather/Gmail etc when you connect.

    Costs nothing more.
     
  16. stevep94

    stevep94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm new to the Desire but I have a widget just called "Mobile" which, when I turn it off, disconnects the 3G/HSDPA (and therefore I assume ALL internet usage!?!?) and the icon at the top vanishes until I click it back on!!

    Couldnt the OP just do this which then leaves all the other phone functions on??

    SteveP
     

Share This Page

Loading...