Talk on the phone while browsing the web?Support


Last Updated:

  1. c4miller4

    c4miller4 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to browse the web while talking on the phone on the Eris? I can on my sprint hero and didn't know why you wouldn't be able to on the Eris.

    p.s. Not trying to start a hero vs. eris fight, just wondered because I hate AT&T and wondered if their new adds with Luke Wilson were complete b.s.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    No you can not. Verizon can not do data and voice at the same time.
     
  3. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    I could not with my AT&T blackberry either.
     
  4. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    i thought sprint was cdma also...only gsm can do data and voice simultaneously.
     
  5. GixxerJoe

    GixxerJoe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    ATT can do voice and data at the same time, only while on 3G. If you want to do voice and data at the same time on the Eris you can as long as you connect your data via WiFi. I stay connected to WiFi at work just for this purpose.
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    Anyone know if data and voice will be possible when we switch to LTE?
     
  7. c4miller4

    c4miller4 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    You are right, I must have had wifi enabled when I attempted it before. Sprint can't do it either. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  8. acipollo

    acipollo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    6
    I know people say that cdma can't do data and voice at the same time, but, I remember a few years ago, there was a way(hack) to enable it. Also, aren't text messages transmitted over 1x on Verizon? And we can receive those while on a call..
     
  9. yankeeboy

    yankeeboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Not possible. EVDO stands for Evolution Data Optimized (or as AT&T reps tell customers, DO is called Data Only). Just about the entire VZW network is on EVDO REV A now, which does not support it. IF they were to upgrade the network to EVDO REV B it would support simultaneous voice and data - it is becoming obvious that with the rollout of 4G-LTE (Long Term Evolution), that they are skipping over that as a priority for now. In China, they have achieved test VOIP calls and Data Calls in excess of 9 Mbps, yet they have chosen this as the next step in their evolutionary path.

    Text messaging is another animal, as it runs over the voice network - yet is phone driven. So some handsets have this feature, the Eris happens to be one of them.
     
  10. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
  11. ideaman4u

    ideaman4u New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which begs the more general question, is this ability phone, carrier, or technology limited? I have a new Galaxy S3 from T-Mobile and, so far, I cannot definitively find out whether or not I can talk and browse simultaneously. That is to say, it either cannot be done or I haven't figured out how to do it (cannot get to Internet while on an active call). BTW, T-Mobile has 4G here in Honolulu and where I am, I can see the 4G being used by the phone.
     
  12. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Nothing in this thread would really apply in your case. This is a nearly 3 year old thread for one of the first Android phones on Verizon, which uses a CDMA network. Not being able to call and use 3G at the same time can be either a phone or network limitation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...