Talkatone is here! (google voice voip)Tips


Last Updated:

  1. ziddey

    ziddey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    24
    Just a heads up. Talkatone is finally available for android. I've found it to be the only reliable google voice voip solution for the Motorola Triumph.

    Never had luck with grooveip or a pbxes account (tried with csipsimple, sipdroid, 3cx, etc)

    Still early in development for android, but as it is, it already works great. Racked up a few hours worth of airtime with no major complaints.

    Best of all, it's free
     

    Advertisement
    progmanos and navyseal430 like this.
  2. Whyzor

    Whyzor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    966
    I believe one of the major differences between this app and the others is Talkatone has backend servers to do compressed codecs that works better on VM's flaky 3G data. Groove IP works fine if the network is good (like on wifi), because it uses the default Google Voice codec that doesn't do a lot of error or jitter correction.
     
  3. ziddey

    ziddey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    24
    Oops, should have clarified. I've never tried voip over 3g. I'm speaking strictly wifi. Never had good results with grooveip/pbxes.

    FWIW, gtalk/skype work fine on the triumph, even on 3g. gtalk video is extremely buggy on the triumph though and fc's constantly. skype is immaculate.

    Either way, talkatone is the only solution that works for me (new apartment doesn't have sprint reception, so this is key!)
     
  4. wigginst

    wigginst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    58
    Does talkatone need another app as well to work here like on the itouch? On there I seem to need google voice connect as well.
     
  5. shimdachef

    shimdachef Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Terrible because it doesn't work if you have an adblocker installed...
     
  6. tlopez1973

    tlopez1973 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    29
    I guess that why it don't work for me then
     
  7. wigginst

    wigginst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    58
    It's working fine for me. They are aware that there is no missed call notification and are working to fix that BTW.
     
  8. jonie72

    jonie72 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very disappointed that Talkatone is not compatible with my LG Optimus T. Have been using talkatone on my ipod touch with good call quality.
     
  9. FaroeseViking

    FaroeseViking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    I use the Grooveip on my Triumph. . .never a problem. Though I do use primarily on wifi.
     
  10. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    45
    What a piece of trash app. The only thing that works in this app is all the advertising. Can't change the audio quality unless you pay for the app. Every call I tried on my wifi, wireless N connected to 12MB cable, was jittery and not usable.
     
  11. AtticTRON

    AtticTRON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    51
    I'm going to have to agree. I downloaded the app early this morning and tried to use it, I even disabled my ad blocker, but its just so awful. I'm going back to Groove IP.
     
  12. ziddey

    ziddey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    24
    I'm pretty confused how grooveip works well for you guys and talkatone doesn't. It's the exact opposite for me no matter what settings I tweak. That's on two different Triumphs too. Hmm..
     
  13. wigginst

    wigginst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    58
    My guess is its a combination of the different phones, different software builds, what wifi or data its used over etc. Talkatone has actually been working better than groove IP for me lately as, well.
     
  14. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    45
    Groove IP has a free version now. I tried it out today and it worked perfect. Tried talkatone again and jittery audio. I was going to try it on my old optimus v but it isn't even listed in the market, excuse me play store.
     
  15. bluezeak

    bluezeak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't know about either app today, and saw the paid version of groove ip first. I bought it to try it - it worked well. needed to tweak the mic volume up a notch or two though. Then I saw talkatone. Free. Tried it - it also worked well.

    Both apps are pretty full featured, though Groove is a bit more configurable and seems to integrate a bit better with the built-in dialer (recently dialed). It's a hard call for me as to which is better or why you would choose one over the other. From the responses here I guess it depends on your phone, how it's setup, and possibly your network / wifi.

    To get rid of adds, groove ip is cheaper with its $5 vs talkatone's $8.
     
  16. bluezeak

    bluezeak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GrooVe IP's quality was a bit stuttery for me. It has an option in 'troubleshooting' called 'audio processing' and another one called 'synchronize voice'. I have a Motorola Bionic, and I turned both of those on, and it works better for me. The bionic is decently powerful though - I don't know if weaker phones would be able to take adnvantage.
     
  17. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does using either of these remove the ability to get calls within Gmail on a desktop /laptop? if so that's a dealbreaker for me.
     
  18. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    562
    I have a question here-
    If talkatone and grooveip both use google voice, then why not just install google voice and bypass these apps? :confused:
     
  19. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000
    Likes Received:
    921
    Because those apps use the Google Voice service, not the app , the official app doesn't support as many options and customizations.
    OB
     
  20. Whyzor

    Whyzor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    966
    Because Google Voice is just a call forwarding/transfer/ID service (despite its name). Talkatone/GrooveIP/Skype/SipDroid are real VoIP services that allow voice over internet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...