1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Task manager


Last Updated:

  1. dog4life

    dog4life Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone know whats up with a task manager for the g1? if its in the process of being made, if there is one to download somehow, is it possible to make??? im sure this is part of the problem to the short battery life and it would help to be able to close apps so the phone wont freeze or blow up one...
     

    Advertisement
  2. meltyblood913

    meltyblood913 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you go to the market place on your G1 phone under tools there is a task manager program you can install.
     
  3. OrganizedFellow

    OrganizedFellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    dog4life, me, and EVERYONE else with the G1 wants a task manager that KILLS or TERMINATES a running task.

    Is there one available?
     
  4. ppcinfo

    ppcinfo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the G1 is running Linux, it shouldn't be that hard to create an app that can list all the processes for a particular user and do a "kill -9" Linux/Unix command to kill the process. Provided that the Android OS API will allow you to issue Linux commands from a Java application (there may be some security issues).

    I'll try a few things with the emulator and see if I can create such an application. The thing is, you want to be careful to not kill a "good" process otherwise who knows what could happen! :)

    ppcinfo
     
  5. OrganizedFellow

    OrganizedFellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't there a way to list running processes and/or applications with User = Root?
    If so, why not list the processes and/or applications with User = User?
     
  6. dog4life

    dog4life Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just switched from the tmobile dash with windows mobile and the task manager on there worked wonders, i just dont understand why its so hard and why htc or google wouldnt put one on there in the first place knowing that there will be all kinds of apps for the device????
     
  7. OrganizedFellow

    OrganizedFellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    They want to give developers the chance to create one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...