1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Tasker - Using the Button: Long Search event


Last Updated:

  1. Mizarc

    Mizarc New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to use Tasker on my Droid X to make a popup window with widgets for GPS and WiFi when I long-press my search button. There's an event in Tasker called Button: Long Search.

    Here's the problem, when I long-press Search, it just opens the voice search feature, not the popup that I want.

    In the Tasker tooltip it says,
    "In order for this event to work, Tasker's Search Helper should be selected as the activity to handle the press when Android shows the relevent dialog."

    HUH? I can't find any options at all that allow me to change what the default is for long-pressing the Search button. I've searched far and wide, scoured the forums on many sites, and I can't seem to find anything that discusses this. Am I really the only person that ever tried to use this feature? Somehow I doubt it.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    Just took a look at this myself, unfortunately I don't know if I can be of much help, since I don't have a search key per se (Galaxy S, long press the menu key opens search). Tried looking around at the Tasker website, nothing there, google is similarly unhelpful.
     
  3. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    In conjunction with creating a profile with the proper context, you may have to clear the defaults for the current app that loads in response to a long press on the search key - probably Voice Search. Once you've done that, the next time you long-press search, Android should present you with a list of apps to choose from, including Tasker's Search Helper.
     
  4. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    130
    Motorola gimped the long-press of search on the Droid X and Droid 2 (it's hard coded for Voice Search on those devices). If you're rooted you can use my app HomeSmack to restore the intended, standard-Android, behavior.

    HomeSmack - Android app on AppBrain
     
  5. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I was just about to post this. I use this app and I can confirm it worked/works for me on stock, ApeX, and rubiX ROMs :D
     
  6. Mizarc

    Mizarc New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm basically out of luck unless I root my phone. I guess I'll have to look into the pros & cons of doing that now.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  7. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    On my x, it doesn't work, I still get voice search app popping every time
     

Share This Page

Loading...