Terminal EditorsGeneral

Last Updated:

1. moutaindewdope

moutaindewdope Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Any1 been able to do fun and exciting things to improve the android experience and/or fix bugs using Terminal editors, and the programs stored in /System/Bin?

I've been playing around with some of them basically just looking @ command syntax for the different programs. Some of them seem promising, and some of them look like they can make ur eris into a stylish paperweight

One app i actviated was $ Toolbox, the only thing this did was echo back Toolbox! in the termina editor lol.

Ive seen posts where ppl used dmesg to find out how the internal memory was partitioned.

I'll admit i'm a total linux shell newb, but playing around with it is fun for me.

Advertisement
  2. erisuser1

erisuser1 Well-Known Member

Here's a couple of tips that might make your life more pleasant.

You said "terminal editor", so I am assuming you are using a terminal app on the phone; if you are already using "adb", you can safely ignore the first remark.

1) Typing on the phone keyboard to enter Unix commands in a terminal emulator is painfully slow - a horrible experience, really. Go and install the Android SDK (available for Windows/Linux/MacOS) from Android SDK | Android Developers, and then use the "adb" program, as in "adb shell", to run a command shell on your phone (connected by USB), but allowing you to use your PC keyboard and a nice-sized window on your PC.

2) Discover that downloading the SDK allows you to (also) run a full-blown phone emulator right on your PC - and that you "have root" on that "virtual phone". That means that you don't even need to use your Eris to "poke around on a live Android phone". You can even download Marketplace Apps (free ones, anyway) to the Emulator to fool with them.