Testing JIT?


Last Updated:

  1. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    I installed Pete's BB v0.5 (ERE53) yesterday. Using the stock non-overclocked kernel, I am stunned at how much faster 2.1 is over 2.01.

    Anyway, I am curious about the JIT compiler and edited build.prop to enable it. I understand from reading either here or somewhere else that you don't have to push the three files (libnativehelper.so, etc.) as they already exist in BB. I did indeed find the three files.

    So how do I test to see if JIT is actually enabled and working?

    I ran Linpack a bunch of times before and after enabling. The highest I've see after enabling JIT is 4.667 mflops. It seems to consistently return 4.6xx mflops with occasional drops to 4.5xx or 4.4xx. Before enabling, it seemed to return mostly 4.5xx with an occasional 4.6xx.

    With such a small difference, I'm not convinced that JIT is actually enabled & working.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Look at the end of your build.prop file...

    If you see:

    dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit

    It's enabled.

    If you don't see that line, or see:

    dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:fast

    It is not enabled.
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You sure those files are already in BB? I pushed them over anyways.

    Those numbers are at 550? Those sound like stock numbers. I just downclocked to 550 and get about 5.35, so those are the numbers you should be getting with JIT enabled.
     
  4. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    Unless I'm a complete idiot, yeah, I saw them. I looked at where they are supposed to go and looked in those directories.

    Since my original post, Pete has posted a jitupdate.zip file which does all the work for you. It puts the files in place and edits build.prop. Since installing that, I have indeed gotten 5.35 like you.

    I guess that even though the files are there, you still need to put the new versions in place.
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Oh, yeah the files are there...but they're not the ones for JIT :D

    Glad you got it figured out though.
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    There was a post (which I should have verified) that ESE53 already included JIT-capable versions of those files...did you guys try enabling via the build.prop edit before pushing the other files? Definitely worth a try...
     
  7. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    That's what I did. I found that same post and then put an edited copy of build.prop on the phone to enable JIT and got no increased performance.
     
  8. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    224
  9. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    Would that update.zip work with Droidmod? I know theres an option to include JIT in the flash but I haven't checked if its really enabled.
     
  10. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    I would not even bother. Any success with JIT has been on the 2.1 platform (DroidMod is 2.01). The most reliable being with the lastest ESE53 roms (with JIT active by default on most).
     
  11. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    Try jit using petes v.0.7 ... adams new ese53 kernel on the low frequency... @1.2.

    Flying... with low heat.... great battery.... and stable!.... all with smoked glass....



    ;)
     
  12. brocja01

    brocja01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    7
    K, I'm by no means a noob. But everytime I see JIT I'm thinking of "Just In Time" debugging. What are we turning on when we use that? Is that what is stands for?
     
  13. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    It's a Java just-in-time compiler.

    Android apps are written in Java.
     
  14. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    As far as speed, disable background processes that hog memory and poss. cpu.
    Maybe a better score - I haven't tried both to compare back to back myself.
    Also disable live wallpaper maybe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...