Testing the GPS Satellite usage on Fascinate, the right way. Have "use wireless networks" off.


Last Updated:

  1. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Hey everyone, I posted this originally in the Epic room, but now that the Fascinate is out, I'm curious to know how your GPS works also.

    First of all congratulations everybody. I am soooo excited for each and every one of you. Seriously, I have a big smile on my face because I know that excitement, that joy you all are feeling. You won't be putting your phone down for days, I GUARANTEE IT! You guys seriously just purchased the most kick ass Android device, along with the rest of the Galaxy S phones!

    The Vibrant and Captivate users are watching closely. Samsung has promised us a GPS optimization, and presumably your Epic and now Fascinate already has it. So you guys are our life line right now.

    For those of you who will be testing out your GPS in the next few days, I'd like to make a few comments, so that we can get accurate GPS testing, to determine if the phone is actually using satellites like it should, or depends instead heavily on less accurate cell phone towers to determine your location, which means the GPS is still busted on these phones.

    Okay, so here it goes. When testing your GPS, "Use Wireless Locations" should be turned off. Settings>location & security>Use wireless networks...make sure its UNCHECKED.

    Read the note right under it, it says "See location in applications(such as Maps) using wireless networks." If you put a check mark next to this, and turn this ON, then how will you ever know if the phone is functionally using the satellites. This is the big question with the phone, can it use and lock onto satellites or is Samsung hoping we use less accurate cell towers. Samsung hopes you have this on. I ask that you keep this unchecked, this is the only way to truly test the Satellite usage.

    Further, by checking this, you are allowing Google to collect location data, even when no applications are running, they say its anonymous, but you never know.

    So uncheck "Use Wireless Networks," restart your phone, make sure this is still unchecked, power up Google Maps, and go for a good long drive. Then please share your real world results. Including, how quickly it located you, was the location correct, how wide of a blue circle is there around your location, did the phone ever drop the GPS signal, etc. No 2 min drives, you really need to drive around a lot to dependably test this.

    You can also download "GPS Test" from the Android Market, it will show you how many satellites your phone views, versus how many satellites are locked in. You need 4 LOCKED on satellites to get a true 3D positional lock that includes x,y,z,t. GPS test also shows your accuracy in ft, up in the upper right corner. Good accuracy is anything less than 10 ft. I have phones that get 5ft accuracy, the best accuracy I can get with my Vibrant is 40ft. Please report this number also. If you have time, upload a screen shot of your GPS test, or just take a pic of your phone running the GPS test, upload it and share your results.

    You can also use the built in native GPS test. It is virtually the same as the GPS TEST program above, it's just not a pretty visual interface.
    Go to your phones dialer, as if you are making a phone call, and dial in *#1472365# or if that doesn't work try *#*#1472365#*#*Then click on "get position test."
    This test will show you your longitude and latitude, you can then enter this into Google maps to see how accurately it located you. It gives you accuracy in meters, convert to feet by multiplying the number given in meters by 3.28, you will now have your accuracy in ft.
    The native built in test will show you have many satellites it has in view, the satellites that it actually locks onto will have an asterisk next to it. Please report both these numbers. Remember you need 4 locked on satellites for true precise 3D positioning.

    I'm really interested to hear from prior smart-phone Android users, because these users will be able to make a direct comparison of the GPS to prior phones.

    Thanks, and enjoy your phone!
     

    Advertisement
    lonzom10 and substring like this.
  2. EliC

    EliC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    19
    From another thread but related to your request:

    Ok, I don't know what experience the other reviewers have had, but I have now tried 3 (THREE) separate units in 3 separate locations and my conclusion is GPS is 100% BROKEN / Non-Functional!

    I just got back from a 3rd VZW location. I had the Fascinate next to the droid display. They had 2 Xs, and incredible and a d2. I installed GPS Test on all 5 of them and ran them:

    This is the order they were set up on the display, all a few inches from each other and the results
    X: 5 sat in view, 5 in use
    D2: 7 sat in view, 7 in use
    Inc: 10 sat in view, 10 in use
    X: 5 sat in view, 5 in use

    I moved the Fascinate around all of them:
    Fascinate: 0 sat in view, 0 in use, 0 accuracy!
    I gave it about 10min to acquire a sat, never did, the others had locks almost instantly.
    I even took the phone outside of the building with the rep, nothing!

    These results are similar to the other unit I tried. I did not try GPS test on the first unit, but as previously noted the location in gave on Google Maps was literally a mile or more off.
     
  3. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    been using mine for a week now and none of which the op posted worked. it does nothing and does not let you test anything.

    the gps locking on my location is hit and miss it works fine at my home bt near my work it will sit for 10 min and never lock onto my location.

    if there is anything else you want me to try i have a phone in front of my right now
     
  4. kranbes

    kranbes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    first of all, where did you read that the Epic and Fascinate already have the fix? Word is it's going to be bundled with 2.2 by the end of September. I don't think the official fix for any of the galaxy S phones is out there yet. however, from your Epic thread, it looks like they HAVE improved the gps performance, which I hope is the case for the fascinate. But this isn't the final fix that'll be bundled with 2.2 is it?
     
  5. substring

    substring Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    58
    @SamsungVibrant, thanks for the detailed information. I will try that later.

    By the way, I don't worry too much about Google collecting location data on me. I use FourSquare all the time and I don't worry about them collecting my location data. Besides, I am not Miley Cyrus or Taylor Swift that people are interested in where I am. :)
     
  6. Destination: Moon

    Destination: Moon Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm starting to fear that this is why VZ is giving them away for free. If they had a soft fix for this it would have been pushed to the million or so users that already had the device. Some of them for months now....

    I don't think I will activate mine until they get this worked out. Ill send it back and not have spent all kinds of time getting it up and running.
    I would like to play with it somewhat though. Can you turn it on and get it running on wifi or is it locked with activation mandatory?
     
  7. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    you can get it up and running on just wifi. you have to get past the main programming screen im just not sure what the code is to get past it.
     
  8. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    you can get it up and running on just wifi. you have to get past the main programming screen bypass activation screen, press emergency call button, then at the dialer, press * # 8 3 7 8 6 6 3 3, press the Home key.
    Enjoy!
     
  9. Destination: Moon

    Destination: Moon Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanx!!
     
  10. Araliss

    Araliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you don't activate, will this stop you from being charged something while you test it out. I mean if you decide for whatever reasons you want to return it. All these Fascinate stories are scaring the hell out of me lol. I have the Epic and I love it. But I'm returning it tomorrow because I can't get a good signal.

    I have the Fascinate and Droid X (ordered then cancelled but Verizon sent it out anyway) coming tomorrow also. I was going to send that back unopened, but now I may take them both and test them first.
     
  11. PaulRivers

    PaulRivers Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Um...I'm not sure how that works. It's always been my understanding that the phone uses the tower to give it a rough starting position location, then that allows it to pinpoint exactly where it is via the satellites. It's always been my understanding that in a phone with "Assisted GPs", as most of the "dumb" phones have, that they need info from the tower about their rough starting position to start off the process of figuring out your location, but from there they just use the satellites.
     
  12. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    if you ordered it from online then you have the phone unactivated and can bypass the main program screen and play with the phone and run off just wifi. you can log into your google account and even do market and everything.
     
  13. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Well Samsung said the following concerning the Epic:

    "We have tested and validated both Network Assisted (indoor) and Autonomous (outdoor) GPS on the Epic 4G. With regards to Vibrant and Captivate, we are currently testing software updates which will optimize GPS performance. We expect to be able to make the updates available in September and will communicate more information and download instructions in the next few weeks."

    I may be wrong, but I was just assuming, that since fascinate was released after the Epic, wouldn't it make sense for Fascinate to have been optimized also? BTW many epic users are still reporting bad accuracy with epic.


    I think the optimization update coming at end of sept is for vibrant/captivate only. Epic already has the optimization, presumably so does Fascinate.

    If Samsung has indeed also already optimized the Fascinate GPS, then the release in sept will only be for vibrant/captivate, and not Epic/Fascinate.

    Unless, the Fascinate is yet to be optimized also, meaning vibrant/captivate/fascinate are broken, and only Epic Fixed.

    That was confusing, lol, hope it made sense.

    ps...notice samsung said they will "optimize" the GPS, they never promised a "Fix."
     
  14. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165

    The codes above don't work? Strange. Maybe samsung doesn't want you to have access to the GPS. You can still use GPS Test downloadable from the market.
     
  15. oPEEPINGTOMo

    oPEEPINGTOMo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    11
    Well as much as i want this phone i just cannot bring myself to get it especially after reading that little excerpt. If in fact the update for the GPS will only be for the Cap/Vib then to me this phone is a wash, as much as i love the screen, the shape, and its media player, etc. the GPS being so fragile with no guaranteed fix pretty much makes it a no brainer as far as whether or not to buy it for me at least.

    I wouldn't mind an X but i wish the screen was a lil higher resolution for its size, and speaking of size it don't care for the hump by the camera.

    I swear it is impossible for me to find a phone. I'm not asking for a phone to be perfect. Bing was doable. I just wish could get a phone that looks, is as powerful as, and has as good of a screen as the samsung, but without all of the headache of whether one of its bigger functions actually is going to be fixed or not.
     
  16. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    From what I understand, the fix is coming later this month. It's a simple software fix.
     
  17. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    give it like 3 days and im sure there will be a root out for it and all will be good as far as removing bing. and gps hopefully will be fixed soon i think its a software issue cause im useing the phone right now and it works sometimes. if it was hardware it wouldnt work at all
     
  18. kranbes

    kranbes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I feel the same way. Lexus' GPS might not be working cause his phone's not activated though... ?

    I just want a 4" screen, good specs/hardware, with a slim tab form factor. I'd even take no s-amoled if it meant a working GPS and really good build quality! The droid pro sparked my interest... just dunno how long I'd have to wait for that. I REALLY want a smart phone soon. I've never had one, and I'm ready to make the jump. Pretty sure I'm just gonna get the Fascinate and test drive it for 30 days. If the GPS is a problem and they haven't released a fix/froyo by teh end of september like they said, ill just take it back
     
  19. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    droid pro may be an option. theres not much for specs out on it rumors of a 4 inch display 1.3processor. bt im not a fan of motos displays and i hate the texas instrument processors in the x and droid 2 and if they use the same for the pro or even 1.3 i still wont like it. they seem slow and laggy compared to my DINC
     
  20. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Are you sure it's not because of the UI on it? I have LP on mine and it's virtually lag free.
     
  21. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    when i had my droid x i had launcher pro and it just isnt snappy like the DINC. i used the x and DINC side by side for a month.
     
  22. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Hey there, actually samsung refers to it as "optimization" not "fix." They confirmed the Epic already has it, I'm assuming so would the fascinate, don't you think? I'm just making that assumption since Fascinate was released after Epic. Also samsung never included Fascinate in their statement below:

    "We have tested and validated both Network Assisted (indoor) and Autonomous (outdoor) GPS on the Epic 4G. With regards to Vibrant and Captivate, we are currently testing software updates which will optimize GPS performance. We expect to be able to make the updates available in September and will communicate more information and download instructions in the next few weeks."
     
  23. DoctorPDA

    DoctorPDA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
  24. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165

Share This Page

Loading...