Tether Droid to Playstation 3Support


Last Updated:

  1. ccoram

    ccoram Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm a light internet user and have cancelled my home high speed internet. All I use it for is Ebay, news and the weather occasionally. Anyway, I just tether my phone to my desktop/laptop when I want to get on the net and it works awesome.

    My question - is there any way to tether my Droid to my PS3? I want to be able to go online with my PS3 for updates.

    If not, is there anyway I can basically "reverse" the effects of a wireless router and let my Droid give the net to my PC, and then maybe connect an ethernet cable from my PC to the "Internet" port on a wireless router and have WIFI?? Just wondering.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    I don't think so. If your PS3 is running Linux maybe, but that won't help it update.

    Rather, you can just download the update with your PC, slap it on a flash drive, and update that way. Check out the instructions here:

    PlayStation.com

    What you're talking about (using the Droid as a wireless router) is quite possible on rooted Android devices (G1, etc.), and will probably be a feature in the future if/when the Droid is rooted.
     
  3. ccoram

    ccoram Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great idea - didn't even think of that one.

    Maybe someone will get the job done so we can use it as a wireless router. Some cases (like mine) it would work great but I can see where that would be a real GB eater if you used it a lot for that.

    What happens of you go over the infamous 5 GB limit anyway? Slap on the wrist, nothing, they call you, cancel, charge extra $$ ????

    Thanks
     
  4. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Well technically there is no 5GB limit for the email and web for smartphone add on feature. If you have the extra tethering plan then you do have the 5GB cap, but if you can do it without the extra fee then why bother right? Now that's not to say they won't call or send you a message if you are using large amounts of data every month, or multiple GB's in a few days. You would most likely be told to either cut back or your service will be terminated, but as it is now there is absolutely no mention of a 5GB cap in any TOS or contract.
     
  5. ccoram

    ccoram Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was under the impression from others that vzw had the limit but that's great if they don't. It works great now so definately wouldn't want to pay for it. I read on a random ps3 (not droid) forum something about tethering your phone to pc and then bridging the connection in properrties and connecting a lan cord from pc to ps3...is this possible in any way

    I don't know much about it.
     
  6. MustangChris04

    MustangChris04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Its a simple thing to do. I tether my xbox with my phone. Once your computer is tethered to your phone, plug the ps3 into your ethernet port on the computer and setup internet sharing to share you internet connection to the ethernet port. I use OSX and its simple. It can also be done on windows but I've never used windows before. Xbox live actually runs quite well tethered to the phone. All carriers have a cap at around 5 gigs. If you go over they will send you a letter warning over your overages and if it continues they will have to terminate service.
     
  7. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303

    No limit doesn't mean unlimited :)

    There's a terms of service and acceptable use policy. If you are using, as said above, a ton of data..... they will catch onto this and they could terminate your service, or even send you a pro-rated bill :) :)
     
  8. DA717

    DA717 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only possible way I can think of is to have your Droid connected to your PC then share the connection from your PC to your PS3. If on windows, you'll need to enable ICS (internet connection sharing) or find some NAT software.
     
  9. kingskidd268

    kingskidd268 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    You can use your Droid as a wifi router now, but it creates an ad-hoc computer to computer connection (this is how I tether). Not sure if this network type is compatible with the ps3. Probably easier just to share the connection with your computer tethered.
     
  11. kingskidd268

    kingskidd268 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    The phone is a mt3g it should work on droid.
     
  12. starnesc

    starnesc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    What app are you using to accomplish this? PDAnet?
     
  13. motodan

    motodan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried this using pdanet to tether to my laptop and an ethernet cable to my xbox360, shared connection, and it gives me an error that the mtu setting of router isnt high enough for xbox live.
     
  14. kingskidd268

    kingskidd268 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
  16. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    I asked Verizon if I would ever be charged for using. my Droid to use as a motem. They didn't know anything about it. So I asked pdanet. They said they go off your phones internet, and most smartphones now have unlimited internet, so no extra charge, and no cap.
     
  17. kingskidd268

    kingskidd268 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. massocurr

    massocurr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I have rooted my droid and have the wireless tethering app, but everytime time I try to connect using windows seven or ps3 or anykind of system it tells me there is problems with the DNS.... HELP..
     
  19. glycerine

    glycerine New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I need some help. I have the easy tether full app on my droid which i use to surf the web. I have been trying to connect my ps3 and computer using a eithernet cable and share the easy tethers internet connection, but havnt been able to get it to work. I was able to connect thru my computer this way using an air card, but for some reason this isn't cooperating. Can anyone give me some help please???
     
  20. noeg92

    noeg92 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so what you do is turn on wireless tether app and add the encription. After on your computer you connect to your wireless connection. Then connect your ps3 to the computer using an Ethernet cable. On your computer select your witless connection properties and then select share internet connections with other devices. Turn on your ps3 and set up the internet. Do it custom and then select wired connection and select everything automatic and on proxy server select do not use. Then you'll be online. Hope this helps.
     
  21. k_petersen14

    k_petersen14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do i find "wireless connection properties" on my computer?
     
  22. torr58

    torr58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    can someone help me out with windows, I had been connected before but I must have changed some settings on ICS properties, my ps3 will not obtain an IP address from my computer. I am wirelessly thethered with droid eris to win vista ethernet ics to ps3, like i said I had it working before but something must have happened. Please Help!
     
  23. rkkmk

    rkkmk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  24. 420kid

    420kid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    :eek:
     
  25. 420kid

    420kid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you use too much data on VIRGIN MOBILES 25$ DEAL,they toggle down your mbs speed...
     

Share This Page

Loading...