1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Tether more than one computer?


Last Updated:

  1. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    My girlfriend and I are going away this weekend, and there is no wireless access anywhere. Are there any applications (I've got an HTC Hero running Gingerbread) that I can install that will allow us both to connect at the same time?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Wifi Tether, if you are rooted.
     
  3. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    I've got 2 laptops tethered by wifi right now, including this one that I'm typing on.
     
  4. Copleo

    Copleo Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    19
    The built-in Hotspot feature (see Settings) turns your phone into a wireless mobile WiFi hotspot to which any number of computers (well, at least a handful, afaik) can be linked.
    Of course the data connection will be over 3G, GPRS, or CDMA (or even 2G if you're unlucky) so it will be eating into your data plan. If you have an 'unlimited data plan' be aware that it is probably subject to a 'fair use policy', which of course means it is not 'unlimited' at all! And I can tell you from experience that you exceed those limits a lot sooner that you expect! And that's waaay expensive.
     
  5. 350Rocket

    350Rocket Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm using barnacle with no issues, and I tethered both mine and my friends laptop at the same time and it worked perfect. I'm rooted with 2.1. I was under the impression once I get the 2.2 update I should be able to wifi tether without being rooted. I will have to unroot to get the OTA 2.2 update once it comes.
     
  6. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks EVERYONE for your replies. The one I quoted here from Copleo sounds perfect. Unfortunately, when I select "Portable Wi-Fi hotspot", it just says "Error"

    I'm rooted fine, and the phone is not connected to my wifi currently.
     
  7. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    If you are rooted, download Wifi Tether. The stock wifi tethering ability might not work unless you are on a custom rom.
     
  8. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm on a custom ROM (AOSP Gingerbread). Tried Wifi Tether, but my laptop says it's identifying, then connected, but "No internet Access"
     
  9. Superbrowndude

    Superbrowndude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    11
    Try Barnicale,it works for my comp and my girlfreinds Ipod at the same time
     
  10. Copleo

    Copleo Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    19
    You mean 'Barnacle', right?
     
  11. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    I tried it, but I'm having the same problem no matter what app I try to use:

    My laptop sees the network (Barnacle in this case), connects, then shows it as "Unidentified Network" and gives me no internet access.

    I have this problem with most wireless networks except for the one I have at home.
     

Share This Page

Loading...