Tethering + HTC Magic + BlueTooth (in Canada)Support


Last Updated:

  1. CoreyVidal

    CoreyVidal New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone.
    I recently got an HTC Magic phone in Canada on Rogers that I am VERY happy with.
    I travel a lot and have a small netbook running Windows XP that I would love to tether to my phone. I have read a lot of news articles online about tethering being banned by certain carriers IN THE U.S., but believe this is not the case for Rogers in Canada.
    I was wondering what the best application is to tether my phone through BlueTooth to my laptop, which also would need to work with the 1.5 Cupcake update.
    I would like to do this without having to jailbreak my phone or have a developer's phone. Also, I *am* willing to pay for an app if it works properly and is worth it.
    Any help here would be much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. alexf

    alexf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rogers allows tethering on all data plans over 1GB, however the phone does not natively support tethering. There are hacks to enable it though. I'd recommend a google search and see what comes up.
    here's a good starting point: Let me google that for you

    Let us know your progress.
     
  3. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    actually try this... android-wifi-tether - Google Code
     
  4. jeremy1216

    jeremy1216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. happyally

    happyally Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm also using PDA net with my Rogers connection with no problems so far
     
  6. freeballer

    freeballer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd love to hear the progress you have with tethering this phone. I beleive this will be my next phone when I find some cash. I'd love to be able to use this for laptops, wifi devices on the road. However I'm worried about any hacking to the phone itself, reflashing. Not really because of bricking but its just a hassle, and rarely worth it
     
  7. drallcome

    drallcome New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to say it but you can not currently tether through Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. People are working on it, but don't hold your breath. This phone was not designed to tether from the start and it is not easy to change that when it is not open source software you are working with. You can apparently thank HTC for that. If you want to tether, PDA net seems to be the ONLY way I have found to do it. If you can find any other way, PLEASE PM me.
     
  8. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    Actually you can tether both blue tooth, see - Cyrket - Bluetooth Fileshare - Bluex and wifi see - android-wifi-tether - Google Code I have used both and they work just fine....
     
  9. hotweiss

    hotweiss Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a way to surf using my computer's internet connection on my cell phone?

    Which is opposite of tethering.
     
  11. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Yes, It is called a router and using WIFI....
     
  12. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok.

    What about using wifi on a laptop without a router?

    It can be done using phone's wifi and tether to laptop's wifi, can it be done reverse?
     
  13. Retardical_Sam

    Retardical_Sam New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, what you want to do is set up an ad-hoc network on your laptop and set it in "Internet Gateway Mode" (it's called that in WinXP I think, really you're just using it as a wi-fi bridge), then connect your phone to the ad-hoc wifi network that your laptop creates, and it should work. Google can help if what I just said is a bit over your head. =)
     
  14. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    The problem is when I setup it in Vista, it always says Windows can not setup the network___...

    It works fine on xp.
     

Share This Page

Loading...