Tethering on android devices?


Last Updated:

  1. Kirys

    Kirys Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok it seems to me that most of android phones came without tethering (officially, I'm not speaking about rooted phone due to possibile warranty issues).

    I know that there is pdanet that add this support but 29$ is damn expensive, and it looks like a win/mac only (I'm a linux user).
    All my phones had tethering capability (and i have a tethering allowed dataplan) cause I do need tethering is some circumstances, and I don't think that I am the only one!

    Is there a list of all tethering enabled android phones?
    If not i could be usefull to have some kind of wiki style list of tethering enabled phones.

    Bye
    K.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ccphilly1984

    ccphilly1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    PDANET WORKS WITH BLUTOOTH DUN (FOR ALL OPERATING SYSTEMS SUPPOSEDLY)... whoops capslock... but anyways... i'm trying to get bluetooth dun to work in windows 7 and ubuntu netbook remix, because i dual boot... right now i can only tether in windows 7 via usb. kind of annoys me... i really want one less reason to boot to windows... are you familiar with bluetooth dun/blueman/ubuntu/debian?
     
  3. Kirys

    Kirys Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I do use bluetooth tethering on my Kubuntu with KPPP.
    You have to associate your phone to an rfcomm device, then you can use your dialup program, but it seems that pdanet changes channel randomly, so you have to edit the config script every time (I don't know if latest linux distros have dynamic rfcomm association, I'm using an old one ;)).

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BluetoothDialup

    Anyway 29$ is still expensive for me, I would mind paying 9-10$ tough, and the channel issue is annoying
     
  4. ccphilly1984

    ccphilly1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Josh0187

    Josh0187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you pay $29? PDAnet is free...
     
  6. Kirys

    Kirys Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here
    PdaNet -- USB Tether/Bluetooth DUN for Android
    It's said that
    I do use https ports a lot ;)
     
  7. ccphilly1984

    ccphilly1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the bluetooth info... hope what i shared about usb tethering in linux works out good for you... it is executing binaries and should work in any distro... i love how i can usb tether for free in linx... havent tried https in it yet... i must play with the bluetooth dun stuff though... your info might get us to be able to tether that way too... but i wouldnt really need to reinvent the wheel... just to get it to work... and know how it works.
     
  8. powrful1

    powrful1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    I would love to see WMWifiRouter ported to android.
     
  9. Kirys

    Kirys Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure that all the openvpn process will work with most android device, but you have to admit that the way the htc hero (eu version) tethering works on linux (and other OS) is much better: just plug the phone, activate the tethering on the phone and you are online without do anything more!
    I believed that it was an Android feature and that all phones had it and I was really upset when I discovered that it was something specific to the Hero.

    Maybe a page somewere (on this forum would be great) with an update list of terminal with tethering enabled, and tutorials (for all the rest) would be a good thing for everyone.

    BTW: The hero is not the right phone for me I need a keyboard (I do have to operate often with text terminal applications).
    Cya
     
  10. canrunin

    canrunin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    1
    i was wondering the same thing???? isnt it free???
     
  11. Kirys

    Kirys Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Josh0187

    Josh0187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download OR purchase, the free one will not allow you to use https connections.
     
  13. Jdiulus

    Jdiulus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am no computer wizz but doesnt the internet use http? I just downloaded the free version of PDA net last night. Are you telling me that in a specified amount of time that it is going to stop working?

    Please help! Sincerely Confused!
     
  14. powrful1

    powrful1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    HTTP works https ie secure sites don't
     
  15. canrunin

    canrunin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    1
    what are these sights? sorry but if you could explain the difference,im dumb sorry.
     
  16. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    You can't sign into secure websites, like your bank, or amazon etc
     
  17. tjbugs1

    tjbugs1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    11
    If I pay the $29:
    1 Will it work on my Moto Droid?
    2 Is that a one time fee?
    3 Does the full version allow https sites?
     
  18. Jdiulus

    Jdiulus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I am more confused than ever. As of right now on the "FREE" version I am able to go to all my secure sights. I havent had any issues.
     
  19. canrunin

    canrunin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    1

    Me too!!
     
  20. tjbugs1

    tjbugs1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    11
    But are you still in the "trial" mode? The site says after that unless you buy it, it will only work with HTTP
     
  21. Kirys

    Kirys Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is becoming confusing ^_^
     
  22. Silverwing

    Silverwing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    webSITES, not webSIGHTs, seriously.
     
  23. tjbugs1

    tjbugs1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    11
    [FONT=&quot]
    Perhaps he was referring to his [FONT=&quot]Vision Path[/FONT], and trying to find the balance[/FONT] :rolleyes:
     
  24. Kirys

    Kirys Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry my point is that here the official source of the tool says that the free version is not able to do https, while some users says it is.
    So this post become confusing for users that reach it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...