Tethering Question


Last Updated:

  1. Surfer

    Surfer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hello, I have had my Captivate for quite sometime. The thing I am always nervous to do is tether to my laptop, because I am afraid AT&T will spring a charge on me. So I had 2 questions. Can I tether with a 3rd party app that I buy from the market with no additional fee? ( easy tetherpro ) or can I even use the Samsung Kies option for tether ( I have one of the earlier versions seeing as I never updated it ) Or with using one of these entitle me to pay an extra fee? I was really interested in this because I have so much date left over. Thanks In Advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. Surfer

    Surfer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh yah, I forgot, I don't have my phone rooted.
     
  3. tdrew

    tdrew Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try PDANet. It's free, and works great for me. Not sure what AT&T will tell you. I suppose it will depend on your data usage.
     
  4. Surfer

    Surfer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    11
    Did AT&T charge you for tethering?
     
  5. Surfer

    Surfer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    11
    Do you have a tethering plan though?
     
  6. Chief714

    Chief714 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    5
    PDAnet works for me and I haven't been charged. I tethered my macbook and no problems. But I only tethered once... still no charges tho
     
  7. matwheeler

    matwheeler Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well after looking around on the web, I found a way to USB-tether my macbook very easily. Take a look at this website if you have a mac. **Do this on our own accord**

    Samsung Captivate Tethering for OS X
     
  8. LMaxwell

    LMaxwell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    To answer your question, if you tether without the appropriate data plan, you do it at your own risk. AT&T's TOS clearly states that if you tether without a plan and they catch you, they have the right to not only charge you for the data, but to terminate your service without notice.

    I don't know how often they do it, or if it's something they actively look for, but personally I don't think the risk is worth it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...