tethering questionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. congaman59

    congaman59 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is there an app that will let me tether my SIII for free without rooting?
    I'm on Sprint.
     

    Advertisement
  2. since when is tethering a chargeable function???? i tether my note 10.1 to my s3 all the time
     
  3. djbasik

    djbasik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    13
    I think some American Carries (Maybe All) charge for the ability to tether. In Canada we are lucky in that 1 respect. Internationally Most Carriers also dont consider tethering a chargeable function.
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,861
    Likes Received:
    13,054
    In the us, if you have a plan that limits how many GB you can use they have to include tethering free. You've paid for the data, use it how you'd like.

    Sprint is unlimited, so they are able to charge for tethering abilities.

    To answer your question, I'm not aware of any free tethering options that work on stock roms of android 4.1+ jellybean. Give it time, the developers will find a way
     
  5. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    I have moved this thread into the SGS3 'Domestic' forum since OP is in America.
     
  6. GTWalling

    GTWalling Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    411
    I have a 2 gb limit and T-Mobile USA charges extra for tethering.
     
  7. bprice

    bprice Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is hard to understand is paying $30 or so a month for unlimited data and not being allowed to use it as i please. If I want to tether now and then or just surf all of the time on my phone and the data usage is the same.....then so what. VZW is getting paid in either case.
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,861
    Likes Received:
    13,054
    Because vzw doesn't want to become your internet provider for that price.

    When you use the device as a hotspot and connect 4 devices to it its going to use more data, and vzw wants to be compensated for that on an unlimited plan.
     
  9. SIII groupie

    SIII groupie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    14
    I found PdaNet app that with a USB lets me connect SIII to UltraBook. But after my 14day free trial cost is $15.99. Still deciding if I will now pay. There is an app FoxFi that works with PdaNet to do wirelessly but at this time can't work with JellyBean so not an option.

    The USB worked great for me and I am on Sprint. App will not show up in the App Store on a sprint phone so search the web for the download.

    Let me correct, the free version still works but will not allow secure Web sites after 14 day trial.
    Here is the download link.
     
  10. skramblr

    skramblr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    5
    Foxfi will enable your tethering without rooting.
     
  11. SIII groupie

    SIII groupie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    14
    I can't get it to work on Sprint GIII. I tried again today.
     
  12. ronbien

    ronbien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    47
    I am pretty sure Sprint has this app blocked.
    Good Luck!
     
  13. toxic281

    toxic281 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are you trying to teather your S3 to?
     
  14. javamann

    javamann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    50
    I use PDANET to tether my computer when WIFI is not available. Had to pay for it, but it works beautifully.

    JM
     
  15. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,302
    Likes Received:
    2,974
    i agree in concept.

    but since it is their network.. and they did tell you the limitations of the contract.. and what they want to charge for.. and you signed the contract.
    then you have to accept the situation.

    it sucks that when you go to eat at a buffet... all i can eat.. why cant i take a togo box home? it is for me to eat later! I paid for the food.. and i could sit there till i am hungry again later.
     
  16. Rdjr74

    Rdjr74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    82
    Hot Spot Toggle. Search for that. Better then pdanet. I switched from pdanet (which uses foxfi) but since foxfi is charging money now and seems to not work as well since that, I found Hot Spot Toggle. Accesses the phones built in hotspot functionality as if I was paying thru Verizon. The dev. seemed to have found a way to by-pass the security check to see if on your account you are paying for hotspot. I am still on unlimited data so I would still have to pay 30 dollars a month for it. Not happening, no way no how. Works great!
     

Share This Page

Loading...