tethering


Last Updated:

  1. mash4077

    mash4077 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just installed the driver on the sticky of this forum and for sh&$s and grins connected to pc internet and lo and behold I tehered succesfully without any modifications to the phone and I dont have a tethering plan.
    i used my epix regularly to tether but was just wondering if anyone had some insight on why this worked with such ease and can att tell if Im doing it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. nc53

    nc53 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The USB tethering on your phone is free, at&t only charges you if you use the wireless hotspot feature, an advancement of the usb tethering, but you would have to call in to activate that part of your plan.
     
  3. LMaxwell

    LMaxwell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    This is so not true. AT&T does not allow free tethering of any kind, and if you abuse it and they catch you, they can and will charge you for every bit of data used. They can also cancel your service without notice.
     
  4. Degoins

    Degoins Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    At&t also does not offer hotspot tethering for the captivate.....
     
  5. barr08

    barr08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    This sounds like a great way to get out of your contract!
     
  6. mttfrog13

    mttfrog13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    Yeah I'm not sure if this is even possible. Isn't tethering using your 3g, not wifi, to connect other wifi devices to the web. This would be pointless if you are already at a wifi hotspot.

    I might be wrong but I think tethering is charged, but the hotspots are free. They probably make it easy so that you unknowingly connect up and they start charging you per MB. My friend on verizon connected up to tethering and was rambling about how he had free tethering...he wasn't so happy when he saw his bill.

    Carrier apps and features are just a minefield that will just increase your bill. I would never even load an At&T app. I read a thread here a little while ago about a guy who saw the at&t instant messaging app, and ended up being charged for it on his bill. I mean, who would think that an innocent little instant messaging app would cost $10/month. Be sure to read and text or confirmations when loading up AT&T apps or any carrier's apps.
     
  7. DannyB

    DannyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    18
    AT&T Navigator -- $10 / month. No thanks. Google navigation is free.

    And I can "tether" just fine from my Linux netbook to my unrooted Captivate using a USB cable, Proxoid, and a couple scripts to set up and tear down the tethering. Planning on switching to Tetherbot soon.
     
  8. avs

    avs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Froyo leaks and other ROMs have this built in. Both USB and hotspot. I have the 2GB plan and tether quite a bit but I never go over 2GB so I probably fly under the radar. Most of the time I'm around a WiFi network.
     
  9. CrashingTiger

    CrashingTiger Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would AT&T even know you were tethering, anyway?
     
  10. chocophile

    chocophile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    22
    One way they could find out is by looking at HTTP header info. Every time you visit a web page, your browser tells the remote server a lot about you: What browser you're using, your OS, who referred you (if you clicked on a link). Check this out to see what information your browser passes:

    HTTP Header Viewer

    The user agent info shows quite a lot. My desktop Firefox shows that my OS is Windows NT 6.1 (AKA Windows 7) and Firefox/3.6.13. My Captivate shows that I'm using Android 2.1-update1 and Mobile Safari/530.17 (default browser)
     
    contradictions likes this.
  11. ulbonado

    ulbonado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes but that's not really proof. People have been known to change that string, e.g. in order to get the full version of a website rather than the mobile one. So they could suspect, but you'd still have plausible deniability. :D
     
    contradictions likes this.
  12. PGP_Protector

    PGP_Protector Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    38
    I'm tempted on trying tethering with my Captivate, that way my Viewsonic Tablet can hop on the internet when I'm not around WiFi :)
     
  13. mnemonicj

    mnemonicj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    32
    I have tethering on my Captivate using a WiFi hotspot tethering app called android-wifi-tether. All you need is Root and the Sideload Wonder Machine. I am running the 2_0_6 apk and it works great.
     
  14. barr08

    barr08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which build did you download? The Fascinate?
     
  15. mnemonicj

    mnemonicj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    32
    No, I downloaded the newest stable build in the downloads tab, wireless_tether_2_0_6.apk.
     
    barr08 likes this.
  16. barr08

    barr08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh I didn't see that. Thanks, I will try this out.

    Edit: Works like a charm. While I can't find a whole lot of information about this app, I can verify that it successfully created a wifi network. 3G speeds were very good. Thanks for this!

    Edit 2: Found this lifehacker article that recommends this app.
     
  17. Culverin

    Culverin Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh dang.

    Sometimes, I complain about Canada cell service sucking bad.

    But at least Rogers didn't castrate my phone.
    - Non-market apps are allowed
    - Wi-fi AP is enabled
    - USB Tethering is enabled too.

    I think you guys need to chase AT&T about this crap.
    You shouldn't have to put up with it.
     
  18. CrashingTiger

    CrashingTiger Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do agree with you. If i'm paying for a 2GB package (and i am), what difference does it make how i use that 2GB of data?
     

Share This Page

Loading...