Tethering?General


Last Updated:

  1. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well I saw the thread in here about thethering and trying to fix the speed problem. I did not want to high jack his thread with my question so i made my own thread. Can someone please explaing thethering to me?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Tethering allows you to use your phone as a modem so that you can connect a pc to the internet through the phone.
     
    lilbballer27 likes this.
  3. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh really? Thats pretty cool. Um I also saw that people said you just download the app. Is that all you really have to do is download the app and run it?
     
  4. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    I beleive you also have to install software on the PC but maybe someone that uses it will be able to clarify.
     
  5. Bishop

    Bishop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    15
    I had to download something to the laptop I'd be tethering to. Piece of cake.
     
  6. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok well anyone that uses or does thethering can you please clarify if you just have to download the app or what is necessary to do this?

    Thanks
     
  7. zebug

    zebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    154
    be careful with tethering, some providers (like Verizon) don't allow the tethering without a plan that allows it. Not sure if they could ever figure out that you are tethering, but just be aware that it may be frowned upon.

    I don't know all the details, others could chime in that have more knowledge.
     
  8. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have comcast so I guess im good.

    Is tethering like illegal? or why even make that comment. Like what harm can it cause?
     
  9. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    Unless you are rooted, there are two apps that I know of that will allow you to tether. PDA Net and EasyTether. Download one of those apps from the Market and then install as usual. When you open the app for the first time, it will take you through a wizard that will explain what you need to do in an easy format. If, after trying the step above, you still have problems, then come back here and let us know what's going on.

    As for restrictions. PDA Net will restrict you from visiting https: sites unless you pay $30 while Easytether does the same unless you pay $9.99. I, personally use Easytether but have had a lot of issues since upgrading to 2.1.
     
    lilbballer27 likes this.
  10. zebug

    zebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    154
    oh no, its not illegal(well not that I am aware of), service companies just want to make you pay as much as possible. So they can sell you an extra option to your account.
     
  11. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK thanks for the help!



    Yea that makes sense. Ok I was just wondering if you knew it was illegal or not lol.


    Thanks everyone
     
  12. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    There have been nasty debates on this and whether people get caught or not. I, nor anyone I know has ever been caught tethering but then I don't abuse it. I use it when I'm in a pinch and because the speeds tend to be a little slower, I don't do data intensive stuff.
     
  13. Camsd

    Camsd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is the first time I ever comment so i apologize before hand if I ask something you had already answered, or if there's another place to post this question please let me know. I recently downloaded EasyTether and it has been working really well, but do you happen to know if Verizon will charge me the $60.00 for tethering?
     
  14. padrone00

    padrone00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Where did the $60 comes from?

    For those EasyTetherer's out there, does it support bluetooth tethering? I am still trying to get that part working with PdaNet on a w7 machine.
     
  15. Camsd

    Camsd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The $60.00 is how much verizon charges to allow tethring it's a plan the offer but only 5 MG are allowed.

    I know the usb tethering works really well with EASYTETHER i tried connecting via bluetooth and my droid kept saying it was unable to connect but I have XP
     
  16. padrone00

    padrone00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've never seen the $60 charge anywhere. How do they know when you are tethering. I got the PdaNet to usb tether, it was easy and worked well.

    Now the bluetooth tethering is a whole different animal. I am still wrestling with that one to get it to work.
     
  17. Camsd

    Camsd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is an add on they offer for tethering either a Blackberry or a smartphone.

    (EX.When you want to tether a Storm you download VZAccess Manager.
    Once it's finished with the install, choose "Detect WWAN device only in the next window. Click Next in the following window, and then choose either Data Cable or Bluetooth, depending on how you're configuring the phone.)

    and VOILA you have instant Internet Access.

    What I have been trying to find out is:
    Will Verizon find out, and hit me with a charge, or since using a 3rd party app there is no way of them finding out?
     
  18. Fulltime Traveler

    Fulltime Traveler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    12
    Verizon charges $59.99/mo to tether ordinary cell phones. They call it "Mobile Broadband Connect". When they release it for the Eris they say they will charge $29.99/month. That's in addition to the required $29.99 data plan we already have.

    There are many messages out there regarding whether Verizon can detect tethering. I'm sure they could if they wanted to, but in the eight years I have been following the debate, I have yet to hear of anybody being "caught". I tethered our last PDA/phone using a piece of freeware every day for about two years and never heard from them.

    I use PdaNet (the paid version) with my Eris when we are in locations where I can get a better data signal with the Eris than I can with my USB data device. If I try to tether using Bluetooth, PdaNet tells me that it won't work with version 1.5 of the OS. If we ever get 2.1 it should work.

    Hope that helps.
     
  19. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    For anyone tethering: They know you're tethering because of a setting in your PST that sees data go through dun.vzw3g.com, rather than vzw3g.com. They know you're tethering. Will they do anything about it? Probably not. But, I don't take any chances. Here's what you do:

    Dial ##778.
    Edit Mode.
    000000 (six zeroes).
    M.IP Default Profile.
    DUN NAI.
    Change it from YOURNUMBER@dun.vzw3g.com
    to YOURNUMBER@vzw3g.com -- In other words, you're deleting the text "dun."
    OK.
    Menu >
    Commit Modifications.


    Your phone will reboot. From now on (potentially until/if you ever flash another PB00IMG.zip that you'd normally have to *228 for), you will channel all your tethering through vzw3g.com instead of dun.vzw3g.com.

    As far as Verizon is watching, you're moving all that data right into your phone, and not tethering.
     
  20. Airstreamingypsy

    Airstreamingypsy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, on Verizon, if you tether with your cellphone it's $49.99. $59.99 is with a card.

    It's not 5 MB it's 5 GB

    Hunter
     
  21. Fulltime Traveler

    Fulltime Traveler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    12
    Oops.

    You're right on both counts, Hunter.

    The $59.99/mo charge is for dedicated data devices, aka "USB modems" and the like.
     
  22. Airstreamingypsy

    Airstreamingypsy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even a blind squirrel finds an acorn sometimes <g>

    Hunter
     
  23. homewmt

    homewmt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Unless you are rooted, there are two apps that I know of that will allow you to tether. PDA Net and EasyTether."

    Proxoid is a good option that is free, and it works on mac, pc and linux.
     
  24. homewmt

    homewmt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can Anyone confirm this works/ doesn't mess up the phone?

    "Dial ##778.
    Edit Mode.
    000000 (six zeroes).
    M.IP Default Profile.
    DUN NAI.
    Change it from YOURNUMBER@dun.vzw3g.com to YOURNUMBER@vzw3g.com -- In other words, you're deleting the text "dun."
    OK.
    Menu >
    Commit Modifications."
     
  25. Fulltime Traveler

    Fulltime Traveler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    12
    It didn't mess up my phone.

    I was recently told how to make the same modification on my old LG VX8350. Dial-up networking hadn't worked on it in a couple years. After I made that modification it works again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...