Text Tones for EACH contact


Last Updated:

  1. Jragon16

    Jragon16 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've searched everywhere, and the threads that I find, on multiple sites, people ask this question and are given the obvious answer but yet doesnt answer the question. I know how to make a tone for all text messages. I want to be able to give each person their own text tone like I was able to on my Palm Centro. Is there an app for this?
     

    Advertisement
    amandaramirez likes this.
  2. mrreach_69

    mrreach_69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can do this on Handcent. When you have received a text from a contact, open the message and click the setting icon at the top. Setting the notification sound in this menu applies the sound to the individual contact only.
     
  3. Jragon16

    Jragon16 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you. My friend said SMS popup or wahtever, but that app sucks. I will try yours. Thank you so much
     
  4. Jragon16

    Jragon16 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh., does that mean I have to keep them in my text msg box, or will the program remember the tone i assigned them
     
  5. Jragon16

    Jragon16 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    It does the same thing that SMS Popup does with the fact that I get now 2 text msgs, one from my phone and one from this program. Isnt there a way to just give people their own text tone without all the other glitter
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Just turn off the notification in the default SMS app. Then you just use handcent all the time :)
     
  7. Jragon16

    Jragon16 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    will it remember the tones i put for ppl or do i have to keep their messages to do so
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I'm not sure; I don't use custom notification tones. I would imagine it remembers though.

    If it didn't you'd just have to keep a few texts for each contact all the time.
     
  9. Jragon16

    Jragon16 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ya that would suck. I think im going to have to learn how to root this thing cause there is just too much I want to do with it and too much crap that I Cant stand looking at. I constantly have to cancel my sprint tvn from running. I dont even use the crap
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888

Share This Page

Loading...