Thank you Flipz, 2.0 is awesome. If you havent donated, donate now and get it!!!


Last Updated:

  1. ukcatsfan

    ukcatsfan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    This new rom is amazingly fast. I proudly donated for all the hard work in the past, but this 2.0 rom has got me super excited. It is so quick on everything, if you havent donated, give him something now and dl this new rom. You will not be disappointed
     

    Advertisement
  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    can't afford to give him 50 cents....so I'll wait.
     
  3. blampars

    blampars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    22
    Just seen that he's got fresh 2.0 ready. I've been meaning to donate but my middle name might as well be procrastination.

    Just threw him $5.00 so I suspect I should be able to have this later on today.

    Excited, to say the least.
     
  4. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    I would donate but I tried putting the 2.1 ROM which didn't have the camera/MMS/and something else not working and it freaked out on me and gave me force close after force close and the phone never made it to the home screen.
     
  5. blampars

    blampars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    22
    well my phone's booting into fresh 2.0 right now so we'll see how it goes heh, hoping for less FC's than I had with 1.1
     
  6. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm starting to wonder if my FC's had something to do with my still having 1.2.3 rather than 1.5.2?

    How do I put 1.5.2 on the phone? I've already downloaded it from XDA...
     
  7. chfields

    chfields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    5
    Code:
    adb shell
    16:
    Code:
    Code:
    su
    17:
    Code:
    Code:
    cd /sdcard/
    18:
    Code:
    Code:
    flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img
     
  8. blampars

    blampars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    22
    do this, then flash fresh 2.0

    I feel like a 6 year old on christmas, holy crap. amazing stuff here :D!!!
     
  9. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't know/understand what THAT is haha. I don't know code and all that stuff. When I rooted I used the kitchen. When I loaded ROMS, I just put them on the SD card and selected them from the black and green screen...is this the same???
     
  10. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    check the rooting guide, it'll give you great instructions on how to start with the code, using the command prompt from your computer
     
  11. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, I'll check, but is there not an easier way to do it?
     
  12. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    easier way? this way isn't even HARD lol.

    But no, I think that's the only way...I'm not sure how the kitchen does rooting to put the new img on
     
  13. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well this looks like a B! Haha is this what I need to do?!?

    Step 1: Download the Android SDK from Android SDK | Android Developers The Windows file is called android-sdk_r4-windows.zip. Extract the files to your C: drive so that you now have the folder C:\android-sdk-windows

    Step 2: Download the asroot2 exploit file from http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...2&d=1257621154 Extract asroot2.zip to C:\android-sdk-windows\tools folder.

    Step 3: Download the Hero recovery image from http://www.androidspin.com/downloads...roc-v1.5.2.img Place this file in C:\android-sdk-windows\tools as well.

    Step 4: Make sure USB Debugging is off by going to Settings>Applications>Development. Now connect the phone to your PC via USB cable.

    Step 5: Mount your sdcard; Browse to the HTC Sync folder and install HTC Sync on your pc. After it is done installing unmount the sdcard then enable your USB debugging.

    *Note* If the drivers you installed from HTC Sync do not work, you can alternatively download a program called PDAnet. This will not only allow you to tether your phone, but will also install the correct drivers for you as well. *Note* (This note is not part of the original tutorial)

    Step 6: Open a command prompt by clicking the Start button and typing cmd into the search box and pressing enter or found under All Programs>Accessories.

    Step 7: You will now enter a series of commands which I will place inside code boxes to indicate the entire command. You may copy and then paste them into the command prompt window by right clicking. Only enter one command at a time.
    1:
     
  14. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    right, but starting down at the line chfields showed you
     
  15. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    HTC Sync sucks @$$! I can't get my phone to sync unless I uninstall it every time then reinstall. I tried that PDAnet thing too and I guess it doesn't work either.
     
  16. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    ...you don't have to sync it, your computer just has to recognize it.
     
  17. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have USB debug checked and I plug it in then try the cmd and when I type in the code, it doesn't recognize anything.
     
  18. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Do you have the sdk installed? Are you making sure to change to the sdk directory before doing the commands?
     
  19. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    No idea what that means. I thought this was easy?? I downloaded SDK and the other thing in the root guide and I've followed the steps.
     
  20. ukcatsfan

    ukcatsfan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only problem i have run into is when i sign up for my work email through activesync, it now makes me put in a password everythime i slide the unlock screen down. other than that, its great.

    Does anyone know if setcpu will make this rom even quicker?
     
  21. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    What you need to do is this:

    Step 1: Download the Android SDK from Android SDK | Android Developers The Windows file is called android-sdk_r4-windows.zip. Extract the files to your C: drive so that you now have the folder C:\android-sdk-windows

    Step 6: Open a command prompt by clicking the Start button and typing cmd into the search box and pressing enter or found under All Programs>Accessories.

    Step 7: You will now enter a series of commands which I will place inside code boxes to indicate the entire command. You may copy and then paste them into the command prompt window by right clicking. Only enter one command at a time.

    1:


    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. cd C:\android-sdk-windows\tools
    3.  
    2:


    Code (Text):
    1. adb devices
    If you've been following this guide you will see your phone's serial number. If you get "device not found" error, you either need to make sure you the drivers were properly installed or make sure you enable USB debugging AFTER you connect the USB cable. Continue on once you get the proper phone serial output.

    ------------------------------

    If you have the 1.5.2 Recovery Img on your SD card already, you can then do the following:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb remount
    3.  
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb shell
    3.  
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. su
    3.  
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. cd /sdcard/
    3.  
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img
    3.  
    FLASHING TO THE RECOVERY TAKES SEVERAL SECONDS-- BE PATIENT. ENTER THE NEXT COMMAND ONLY AFTER THE COMMAND PROMPT RETURNS TO THE # (ROOT SYMBOL).


    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. reboot recovery
    3.  
    Step 8: This is the last command; you may now close the cmd prompt. This will cause your phone to boot into recovery mode; it should take no longer than 30 secs. The third option on the list is "- Backup/Restore"; select it. Now, select the first option "- Nand backup". The phone will prompt you to press HOME to confirm which is want you want to do. The backup will begin. You will see the screen say, "Performing backup : .........." When done, the bottom of the screen will say "Backup complete!" and you will be given the menu options again. Go back to the main menu and select reboot system. Rebooting your phone after installing the new recovery image may take several minutes.

    Step 9: Once your phone is fully booted, mount the sdcard. You will see a folder called "nandroid"; I highly recommend you copy this to your pc in case you lose your sdcard data or reformat it. Your phone is rooted, 100% backed up, and ready to install a custom rom if you wish!
     
  22. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, I think I got it. When I go to put my backup on my computer, should it be labeled in the SD card something like BCDMRS?

    Also, does anyone think the reason I was getting so many FC's when I tried to load the 2.1 rom is because I didn't have 1.5.2?
     
  23. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    name the backup anything you want.. as long there are NO spaces in the name..

    no, I don;t see how the RECOVERY image has anything to do with you getting force closes.. they aren't even related. to install teh current recovery via pre-kitchen. uncheck the have google option for your phone (checking it installs 123.. unchecking installs 152..

    my personal suggestion since you seem to have a LOT of issues with anything you try to do... RUU your phone and start over.. root it the manual way (copy/paste each step).. it a good clean base and go on from there...
     
  24. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, I'm good now. I've got fresh and 1.5.2 loaded but I'm not sure if I even wanna try 2.1 again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...