Thats Shady?General


Last Updated:

  1. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help. Something weird is happening to my Eris. When I looked at my sister's entry in People two weeks ago, I noticed that she had 50+ mobile phone items where the number is listed as "that's shady". (I did not add them.) I hit 'Edit' and the entries were NOT there when I edited. I made another change and saved the record and they were all still there. I looked at her entry on Gmail and they were not there, either.

    Called VZ and the rep said that she has never heard of this. She did a 'search' and nothing turned up. Searching Google ("thats shady" android) also turns up no hits.

    I cleared my phone's Contact Cache and allowed a resync back from Google and her entry was fine......

    It's a few days later and I went to call her and -- wouldn't you guess it -- there is one entry called thats shady back in her contact entry!

    Does anyone know anything about this? Is it a virus or something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. midnight assassin

    midnight assassin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    8
    Try downloading lookout from the market and do a scan of your phone for a virus.
     
  3. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    Are you using one of the latest versions of Google Voice or have you recently installed any new apps? Any non-market apps?
     
  4. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Assassin. Downloaded and scanned 169 items with no viruses..... Other ideas?
     
  5. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    No GoogleVoice app on the phone (at least not for months since it kept crashing).

    Recent downloads: Cribbage (free), Mahjong, Bing, and Advanced Task Killer, both from the Market.

    No non-market apps for me.
     
  6. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also just tried to "dial" the shady number by typing "T" "H" "A" in the Phone app and the number doenst come up. I can long-hold on the phone number an 'dial' comes up, but I dont wanna see what that does.
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    Are they all the same number or different numbers for each entry?

    When you look at your sister's contact info in the edit screen is she linked?

    Do you have her synced with Facebook? If she has been editing her profile it could be updating her contact card?

    Have you tried doing a reverse look up of the number or calling it from a pay phone?
     
  8. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if I wasn't clear, all the "phone numbers" say "that's shady" so it looks like:
    Call home
    212-555-1234
    Call mobile
    212-555-7890
    Call mobile
    that's shady
    Send message
    212-555-1234
    Send message
    212-555-7890
    Send message
    that's shady

    Great idea re: FB. She is linked. But I looked on her FB page and she does not have a mobile phone entered. Does the link actually pull the mobile number, too? I thought it just pulled birthdays and pictures.
     
  9. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I emailed her to see if she put that on FB just to make sure.
     
  10. midnight assassin

    midnight assassin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    8
    Those are NYC area codes. Is that where she is?
     
  11. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm guessing she's saving the numbers to know not to pick up in the future? ....try those numbers in Google they are telemarketer's.

    WhitePages.com said this


    She put her number in some place at some time. I get the same nonsense from time to time; I've noticed it's when I am in certain places.

    For example I never get calls like that when I'm at home, but away at college or my cousins I can definitely expect a few dumb calls like that each week.
     
  12. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    4
    It is illegal for telemarketers to call cell phones, but that is supposed to be ending soon. Guess try adding your cell number to the "national do not call list"...google it and see. Not that it will help with the "that's shady" stuff, but you won't get telemarketers calling any more.
     
  13. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but she has other numbers that are not 212 numbers, too.

    You think thats something?
     
  14. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those were just sample phone numbers, cpupeli1. :)
     
  15. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    She confirmed she has never put "that's shady" in her FB profile or phone.
     
  16. meanm50

    meanm50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    7
    This whole thread is shady....:D
     
  17. pavirotten

    pavirotten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    11
  18. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    I think at this point there are only a few things you can do to figure out what is going on.

    1) Call the numbers and see who or what answers.
    2) Remove apps systematically and run without them for a few days to see if the problem continues or advances. Once it stops, you may have the problem app....if it actually is an app.
     
  19. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
  20. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
  21. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are NO numbers listed! I guess I could click on the "that's shady" link and see what happens.... but i'm worried what it will do!

    Okay, I manned up and clicked the "thats shady" phone number. The Phone tried to dial it and now says "Sorry! The application My Verizon Mobile (process com.vzw.hss.myverizon) has stopped unexpectedtly. Please Try again" [Force Close Button] So maybe its just some strange fluke in the OS?


    Hmm, yeah, I guess that's the best idear.
     
  23. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    Hmmm, the My Verizon app force closed when you tried to dial the number? That is really odd. I wasn't even aware that that app had access to the dialer in it's permissions. You may have found your culprit.
     
  24. mr-matt

    mr-matt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good advice, but no go....

    I uninstalled the MyVerizon App and restarted the phone. The "thats shady" is still there. Now, when I click on it, it brings up the dialer calling "Unknown" and then says "Call has been lost" and exits the dialer normally back to the People entry. Sigh.

    Is there some log file or something I can access to see who/when that entry was modified?
     
  25. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    That is a good question, but I am not sure. Maybe someone else can chime in with info on logs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...