the 360 apps....


Last Updated:

  1. Trotski

    Trotski Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok, having been stupid enough to download this sh*t onto my phone, and having spent over an hour on the the phone to Vodafone to see if it can be rolled back (it can't, according to them) I thought I'd at least see just what they are....
    well the main problem is, I don't have a 3G signal at home, the "apps" will NOT connect via WIFI :eek:, and they all seem to need updates, on NEW apps just installed by Vodafone! Oh and it seems to count as part of your data allowance, which is now capped :mad:

    So the main question is, has anyone else tried them? Can you get them to connect over WiFi? can you get the updates from the normal market?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Trotski

    Trotski Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    bump
     
  3. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    i'd kick up a serious fuss with vodafone. was one of the contributing factors for you going with vodafone that fact that you would receive an unbranded handset?
     
  4. partridge

    partridge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    57
    I'm not surprised they don't work on wifi.

    When I got my phone I had one months free access to their music store and mobile tv. Guess what. None of it worked over wifi, you could only access these services over 3G (which I don't have where I live or work).

    VF are a bunch of narrow minded tw@ts.
     
  5. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    sounds ridiculous.. seriously, they need to realise that they can't just treat customers how they want. if t-mobile were to of provided me with my desire unbranded and it were one of the reasons i went with t-mobile, just for it to be branded in a sneaky update, i'd be fuming..

    luckily t-mobile don't really bloat out the system with lots of needless branded crap. just got the start screen, a scene and the w'n'w logo on the internet as far as i can tell..
     
  6. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    I agree. I'm with T-Mobile too and I'd be fuming if they did that.

    The thing is what's to stop them adding loads of bloatware to the Froyo update before they release it?
     
  7. Trotski

    Trotski Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    trouble is, the ONLY SP I can get at home is Vodafone, hence me going for the nice unbranded desire! :-( Anyone know if you can de-brand from this update or (takes deep breath) root it?
     
  8. ireland.stuart

    ireland.stuart Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    you could always do a factory reset.. think that removes updates BUT DO A BACKUP FIRST!!!!!!!
     
  9. Trotski

    Trotski Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    not sure that would cure the problem, the new stuff came as a firmware update from Vodafone, thus if reset would now reset to the new firmware :eek:
     
  10. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Was your phone previously unbranded or a recent purchase with the branded ROM loaded?
     
  11. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    if the reason you went with VF was because the phone came unbranded, then kick up a fuss with them. seriously, make yourself very difficult for them because it's out of order what they have done. they've preyed on people that were anticipating a 2.2 update and instead cluttered their phones with bloatware.

    let us know what you're doing mate..

    if i bought a phone because it came unbranded and t-mobile did this, then i'd kick and scream all the way there :p
     
  12. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    what's your bootloader trotski?
     
  13. Trotski

    Trotski Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Pedro7, the bootloader is 0.80, which confuses me, not hard at the moment, i thought the new firmware also updated the bootloader,
     

Share This Page

Loading...