Last Updated:

1. lovebritty

lovebritty Member This Topic's Starter

so wtf is the need for this hack?

and if i do it and mess up...can i brick the dam thing ?lol:p

Advertisement
  2. scheng12

scheng12 Well-Known Member

Do a search around the forums. This question has been answered countless times.

3. vincentp

vincentp Well-Known Member

There's no "need" for root. It's just cool for people who like to do more customization or techies who enjoy playing with the phone and opening up some other options. There are certain types of apps and modifications that will only work when the phone is rooted.

If you have to try to rationalize it, then rooting is probably not the best option for you. I'm a faily big tech geek myself, and I haven't bothered to root mine because I'm perfectly happy with it as is right now. In the future, who knows, but don't do it "just because" unless you really have a reason to.

4. ItalianScallion

ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

Yes, you could brick your device. If you're not sure of the benefits of rooting, I would simply sit tight and wait for 2.1.

I flashed ROMs on WinMo phones on a seemingly nightly basis, but unfortunately, that was almost a necessity as WinMo has been traditionally a bit crippled out of the box (at least that's how I justified my chronic tinkering). This OS updates on a regular basis, so that has satiated my hacking desire a bit.

5. lovebritty

lovebritty Member This Topic's Starter

whens 2.1 comin out?

6. ItalianScallion

Perhaps late January according to some reports

7. CRPercodani

CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member