The first time the EVO has disappointed me.


Last Updated:

  1. ktulu909

    ktulu909 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I finally scored an HDMI cable from a sprint store and cant get anything to work on either my 32" vizio or my 22" insignia.Tried rebooting (rebooting with the cable plugged into the phone locks it up at the white HTC screen,have to remove battery) and still nothing.

    The vizio does nothing at all,and the insignia will remove the "No Signal" from the screen for about 5 seconds and revert back to no signal.The phone does nothing at all.Show absolutely no effects of even seeing the cable.Anyone have anything else I can try?
     

    Advertisement
  2. KAuss

    KAuss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    15
    From what I've read, you can watch videos with it (duh) but it skips the first few seconds of any video... So until you launch a video, you won't have anything on screen...

    The only OTHER thing you can do with it is YouTube app... Again, it only shows up after you start the video...

    Unless I'm missing something...
     
  3. ktulu909

    ktulu909 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loaded up the video player with a converted version of avatar(I used the settings from the handbrake thread)

    3 minuted I watched the movie and nothing.Same situation.If I unpluged the cable from the phone and reinserted it,the "no signal" on the tv goes away for about 5 seconds only to pop back up.I tried the same in both HDMI ports on both TVs with the same results.Should the phone do anything to acknowledge that I plugged the cable in?I guess first thing is to return the cable and try a new one.If that dont work,Ill take the cable and phone to best buy and plug into some of their TVs.If that yeilds nothing,I suppose I have a broken phone.

    Damn it.
     
  4. zamardii12

    zamardii12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    65
    I have a Micro HDMI cable coming in the mail within the next few days. I'll bookmark this thread and report back with what kind of results I get.
     
  5. ktulu909

    ktulu909 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well,swapped the cord and tried a TV at radio shack and still a no go.Looks like I have to exchange.Anyone else have any suggestions to try?
     
  6. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Did you try going to Gallery and then doing a slide show? I can't get video I loaded to play nor Youtube. My Samsung 61" 1080p TV just displays format not supported. Slide Shows work and video I record in 720 p work as well. I did get video I side loaded to work on a Toshiba 1080p LCD I have at my office but it looks like crap
     
  7. ktulu909

    ktulu909 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried both the slideshow and a 30 second video I took at 720.Both TVs I have are native 720p.I wonder if that has something to do with it.Hell I hope not,I would rather replace the phone than have to buy a different TV.
     
  8. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    I've seen TVs not recognize many things plugged into hdmi outputs, ps3, blue ray players, DVRs etc. Resetting the tv fixes it usually. Try unplugging the tv and plugging it back in with the EVO plugged into it. Many people never think about resetting their tv but it works.

    I realize that some tvs don't recognize the EVO or vise versa but it's worth a try.
     
  9. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Sounds like Sprint has a major issue on their hands with these EVOs and HDMI... It's only working for like 50% of the EVO population who's tried it. NOT GOOD!!

    I'm in the same boat as you: http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/104059-got-my-hdmi-cable-but-no-workie.html

    :( :( :( :( :( :(

    I'm thinking it is some driver type issue which is crashing as soon as it is plugged in. I don't know if it's because I'm rooted or some app I installed is conflicting (don't have many)... *shrug*
     
  10. ktulu909

    ktulu909 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I GOT IT TO WORK!!! sort of LOL.I did 2 more hard resets and it now works on the 32" vizio.The 22" insignia is another story all together.As soon as I plug in the HDMI cable the phone freezes and reboots.

    Interesting.
     
  11. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    What did you have yo do?
     
  12. royal42crown

    royal42crown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    The only thing I noticed is if your evo doesn't say hdmi at the top when you plug in the cable it doesn't do anything. I've had good luck with mine so far except for one time when my phone just froze up.
     
  13. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Mine has never said HDMI at the top, but I expected it to as shown in this video:

    YouTube - Hands-on HDMI out with the Sprint EVO

    OK so now that is 3 of us stating some crash/freeze-like symptoms. This is why I said I think it's the SW not the HW (phone/cable/tvs). I think there is some issue perhaps with HDCP and it is causing the SW on the phone to crash. I only wish I knew where to look (I'm rooted via unrEVOked). When I reboot it begins acting funky again so I know the service is back up and running after a reboot, but after it crashes, you can tell it isn't running until you reboot the phone again. I am going to try with another monitor and also I talked to Sprint and I'm heading in there this week when they get more HDMI cables in stock and have a technician on site. :)

    Edit: I just tried another Samsung TV which had HDMI input - neither have worked now. I couldn't even get it to detect/hang like it did before, so maybe it is a bad port or bad cable or something?

    Edit2: I got a working cable from Sprint: http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/106539-hdmi-amzer-vs-sprint-cable.html#post986876
     

Share This Page

Loading...