The 'floating' weather on 2.1 ....


Last Updated:

  1. mattdanielc

    mattdanielc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    63
    Hi guys

    Just recently gone to 2.1 (orange uk) and noticed the way the weather works now. If it's cloudy for example clouds will fill my screen and float across.

    My question is though... what activates it? As it seems to be random when I open my home screen?

    Cheers :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    It gets activated every time you turn on the screen, enter the swipe pattern (if you have one) and then don't touch anything.
     
    The Stodfather likes this.
  3. redmelons

    redmelons Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Are there any other animations? I've only seen clouds - or is that just because of the @
     
  4. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yea, I've seen Sunny, cloudy, rain, and thunderstorms. Can't wait for winter to see the inevitable snow animation here haha.
     
  5. mattdanielc

    mattdanielc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    63
    Ah cool cheers guys - I wasn't being patient and waiting long enough !
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Rain is pretty cool. I actually tried to brush it off the screen one time.


    (In my defence, I was actually stood in the rain at the time :p)
     
    bluenova likes this.
  7. bomber12

    bomber12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have an Orange UK Hero, just updated to 2.1
    The standard weather/clock widget I had with 1.5 gave my location, as my local town. Now on 2.1 it says UK. How can I change the location to my local town?
     
  8. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    Tap the Weather widget. You will see a + sign in the lower right corner which takes you to location settings. :)
     
  9. box2925

    box2925 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    @ bomber12 - I am glad I am not the only one with this issue!

    I have tried the option suggested, but i liked the way the weather app automatically detected where you were and updated itself, without having to manually add loads of locations. Has this function been removed or have Orange mucked about with it?!
     
    bomber12 likes this.
  10. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    3
    do you still get the floating weather effects if you're using the beautiful widgets app?
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I wouldn't think so. Only if the beautiful widgets dev added them as well.
     
  12. RobInBrentwood

    RobInBrentwood Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've not seen any of these graphics yet, is there a setting to enable it?
     
  13. samktc

    samktc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is what I did to view weather animations on my 2.1 Hero [​IMG]

    Select clock+weather widget:
    Home screen, select Add symbol > Widget > Clock > select 3rd clock (with weather graphics)
    Save widget to centre (4th of 7) screen.

    Enable animations:
    Go to Menu > Settings > Sound & display > Animation > select All Animations

    Set current location (I _think_ this is needed...):
    Go to Menu > Settings >Location > Select both Wireless and GPS.
    This should enable discovery of current location on clock.

    View animation:
    Press End Call key to sleep phone. Press Home key to wake phone (unlock as necessary).
    Wait a few seconds to let your phone do its thang [​IMG]
     
    pgvelez and RobInBrentwood like this.
  14. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ah, so it's a feature of certain type of clock widget, not of the weather widget. Bummer, I'm using the small 2x1 clock widget (fifth one), and separate 2x1 weather widget.

    I wish HTC provided more useful clock widget types, instead of all those fancy, bizarre, surreal (and UNUSABLE) clocks. A 2x2 clock+date+weather widget can't be that hard to make.
     

Share This Page

Loading...