The "Linux questions (and other stuff)" thread


Last Updated:

  1. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    Building from source for the first time now, oh snap :eek:
     

    Advertisement
    Prinny likes this.
  2. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    What device and did it finish?
     
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    Still building. Maybe I should switch to kernels so I don't blow up my poor laptop lol

    Plain aosp for my nexus 7 right now just to make sure its all kosher and I have the process down.

    Eventually I want to try to port it to the s3 or evo 4g lte for my own personal use. Will probably rely on much of cms work for that.
     
    palmtree5 likes this.
  4. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    Hmm, what's the specs of the computer?
     
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    Bought it a few years ago. Intel i5 @2.53 GHz x4

    4 gigs of ram is what I thinks holding it back. Don't they recommend like 16gb for building ICS?
     
  6. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    That's about what I have. Takes about 2 hours or so to build, I believe. I'm also using ccache and I have a 4GB swapfile
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    I have 4 gigs of swap as well. I didn't setup ccache, so that could be part of it.
     
  8. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    Yeah, I'd recommend setting that up
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    Its still going, this is getting ridiculous lol
     
  10. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    Oh poo, its done!:D
     
  11. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    Don't forget to back up before flashing! :D
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    OK so when I try to enable ccache anytime i reboot I get an unresponsive black screen. Clearly I'm not doing it right here.

    What's the proper way to enable it, and how do I get Ubuntu to boot again?

    Still mostly a Ubuntu noob here. I learn by messing up and figuring it out, but last time I couldn't figure it out and reinstalled the os

    12.04 LTS
     
  13. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
  15. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person - This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    I don't know anything about ccache, so I can't help you there.

    :eek: No! No, no, no. :eek: With rare exceptions, no Linux distro should ever need to be reinstalled in order to fix problems. About the only time I ever suggest reinstalling is when a brand new installation is hopelessly screwed up, and the user has nothing to lose by just wiping the drive and starting over again. Other than that, it just shouldn't need to happen. This isn't window$. :D

    You said you're getting an unresponsive black screen. Can you boot from a live CD?
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  16. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    Ok, so when I reformatted I put /home on its own partition like you suggested. However, I noticed for ccache...

    Now how do I know the correct path to use for the partition? :confused:
     
  17. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person - This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Good! That's the preferred way.

    Assuming your home directory is in the default location, i.e., /home/YOUR_USER_NAME, then you don't need to specify anything, as you'll have /home/YOUR_USER_NAME/.ccache. It's only if you stuck your home directory in some other location, such as on a hard drive in another computer on your network [which would be REALLY weird!], would you need to specify its location. So just add the export USE_CCACHE=1 line to your ~/.bashrc file and you'll be good to go.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    Awesome :)

    Thanks for holding my hands through this guys ;)

    Now I get to download source all over again tomorrow lol :thumbup:.
     
  19. Spec-Kie

    Spec-Kie Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    7
    Alright guys,

    I have 2 harddrives in my computer on with unbuntu and one with windows. and i cant for hell figure out how to get them both to boots and i choose witch one i want to boot into ?.. any help ?
     
  20. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    Found this thread over on the Ubuntu forums that may be helpful. I don't really have experience with this particular situation as I really haven't dealt with desktops

    Look at this too
     
  21. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    Ok, turns out I wasn't using ccache when I did that two hour build. This time around, it's been building for about 35 minutes so far
     
  22. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,901
    Likes Received:
    13,089
    When I rebooted this morning I got the black screen again. I donno what the deal is. If I hit the arrow key while its trying to boot itll show the command prompt and itll prompt me with a login, and after successfully logging in I can cd to all of my different directories and things but I think its having problems booting the actual graphics?

    This is really starting to get on my nerves. I've reinstalled this thing twice now and it keeps happening.
     
  23. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
  24. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person - This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Just an FYI: You might want to add posts like this to the Linux questions thread. It helps keep all Linux-oriented stuff organized, plus it's more likely that certain people (like me!) will see your question. :D
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  25. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    Done!
     
    Rxpert83 and MoodyBlues like this.

Share This Page

Loading...