The Market is a mess!General


Last Updated:

  1. alex91191

    alex91191 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my phone 4 days ago, no surfing problem when using the net.
    Im using my home WiFi and the browser is flawless.
    On the other hand, the market is awful! I cant download apps, can go to categories, nothing!
    I get an error all the time saying "A network error has occurred. Retry, or cancel and return to the previous screen"
    Cant even go to categories!
    Could anyone help me solve this, or give me a site where I can download apps and games directly from the web to my PC and install later with the installer app? (websites that dot ask you to scan a barcode and lead you to the market, kinda useless in my case)

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. tylerdurdin

    tylerdurdin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    63
    you may want to try to go to manage applications select the market, clear cache and then clear data . It should be something like that for your phone sorry if not.
     
  3. alex91191

    alex91191 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill try that.
    It's just that I bought the phone a few days ago, I don't think it comes with market problems. I googled this problem and many people have it.
    Ill edit and tell you if this worked.

    *Edit: I dont have the market on the app list in the "manage applications" section.
     
  4. tylerdurdin

    tylerdurdin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    63
    ?????????? Yeah, I am stumped but maybe I am wrong, maybe someone much smarter than me or with the same phone as you will come along. Worst case scenario, just do a factory reset.
     
  5. GlitchZero

    GlitchZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    12
    You have to go to Manage Applications, then hit Menu, and then "Show all" should be on the bottom right.
     
  6. GlitchZero

    GlitchZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    12
    You have to go to Manage Applications, then hit Menu, and then "Show all" should be on the bottom right.
     
  7. alex91191

    alex91191 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cleared the cache, still having the same problem.
    Oh, and the downloads are always unsuccessful or paused.
    the market is impossible to use!
    Any websites where I can download apps from the web to the PC and then transer the to my SD card?
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Have you cleared the data too? If you have, the Market should have asked you to accept license terms again the next time you opened it.
    Also make sure to reboot the phone.

    I was having the same issue but today everything is working fine.
     
  9. alex91191

    alex91191 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you clear data?
    Sorry for so many questions, the phone is new and i never had an android before.

    so weird, phone is new and the market isn't working from day one.
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Settings>Applications>Manage applications>?Menu>Filter>All>Market.

    Clear data and clear cache.
     
  11. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    I sometimes get this when switching back and forth from data to wi-fi. So I disable my wi-fi and then wait till its says it's off and then turn it and and wait a few seconds till its on and try again. I usually have to stop the download and restart it if the download was still trying to download.
     
  12. alex91191

    alex91191 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont have data, I use WiFi only.
    Parents closed my internet and calls, i surf and call too much, only use WiFi.
     
  13. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    ahh ok is there a firewall in router that you are using for wi-fi? I was having trouble with that a few weeks ago with downloading apps from the market with my router set to "High" for its built in firewall protection.
     
  14. alex91191

    alex91191 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I check?
    I'm so sorry for all the questions, im not very good with the cellphone...
     
  15. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    That will be tough if you don't know about technology too much :S Well one way to check is does this happen with all wi-fi? Try it on a different wi-fi connection.
     
  16. R-droid

    R-droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a similar problem... I noticed,that I can't download any app from market,if I'm using wifi or data. The download is always stuck at "starting download".

    I have tried clearing cache,rebooting the phone but I haven't found the "clear data" option. Check out this pic.:

    Please tell me,that there is another option except "factory reset".
    Can someone help me here?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. R-droid

    R-droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    I couldn't find "clear data" button on my phone,so I just wiped the market data with "titanium backup pro". Then I cleared the cache and then rebooted the phone.
    Then I went back to android market,and I had to accept some terms of use(something like that).But still my phone won't download any app from the market.Always stuck at "starting download.

    What should I do now?!
     
  18. R-droid

    R-droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    My phone won't download apps from market ,too (anyomore)! The download is always stuck at "starting download" and I can wait 4ever then.
    I have cleared the cache,but I couldn't find the "clear data" button.
    So I wiped data with "titanium backup pro" and then rebooted the phone.
    Then I had to accept some terms of use (for market).

    But I still can't download any app from market.It doesn't matter if I'm downloading via WIFI or data.The download always stuck at "starting download".:confused:

    Can someone please help me here???
     
  19. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    I think it is only present in 2.2 ROMs and I mistakenly thought it was in 2.1 too.
     
  20. R-droid

    R-droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    I believe so...check out this pic.: -What should I do next to solve this market problem???
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    The last resort is always to do a hard reset.
     
  22. R-droid

    R-droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Factory reset? aaaaawww... Well I guess If there's no other option I'll do it,if you think that will solve the problem.but....
    -what caused this market problem anyway?
    -do I have to unroot my phone to do a factory reset?
    -will I have to root my phone again?
     
  23. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    No need to unroot before.
    You will have to root afterwards.
     
  24. R-droid

    R-droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2

    Ok,then. I'm on it.
     
  25. R-droid

    R-droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can someone just explain to me,why such Market problems appear?

    I need to know,so I'll be able to avoid them in the future.
     

Share This Page

Loading...