The Moment has been rooted!!(?)


Last Updated:

  1. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I figured this deserves it's own thread... chibucks posted this in the other rooting thread:

    The Midnight Channel - How to root the Samsung Moment

    I can't confirm, I'm coming from a winmo device so I know next to nothing about android (although I'm a bit familiar with linux).

    Are we excited? I am, and I don't even have my moment yet :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    im trying it now!!! i must first make a offering to the bricking gods to spare my soul. i want to install the flac codec and xda is down! :( first things first lets get this working!
     
  3. souljah335

    souljah335 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what is the advantage at having your moment rooted?
     
  4. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    Exhibit A:

    Shutter sound - Android Forums

    There's a lot more than that... allows a lot of mods to be done that wouldn't normally be allowed. Things like removing the stock Sprint apps. In theory it would also allow people to load custom roms (are they called roms in the Android world?).
     
  5. souljah335

    souljah335 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see. and is it really dangerous for someone like me who has never done that before? Meaning is there any permanent damage i can cause to the phone?
     
  6. dwall1212

    dwall1212 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    when you root it and put 2.0 or whatever os your gonna put on it someone please take a video and put it on youtube and post the link here! so we can all enjoy such greatness! thanks!
     
  7. justpastfinish

    justpastfinish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    adb shell

    Error:device not found

    Any help pleeeeeeease!:confused::confused:
     
  8. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    any one get the phone to connect abd . im not sure if i can do this on win7-x64
     
  9. Radical-J

    Radical-J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    Dude, go to your Sprint store Business Account rep and say your wife or mom wants a Moment but you can't give her yours. They'll usually let you sign one out for a couple of days with a drivers License and Debit/Credit card. Point being try on that one...
     
  10. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0

    loL!

    android sdk 1.5 latest release
    samsung pc studio
    pdanet
    boot into testmode and try adb shell again

    i got access but im not confident enough to continue , ill wait a bit longer for a permanent root procedure.
     
  11. fopp

    fopp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    how exactly does root work? and what exactly does it enable you to do?
     
  12. KeithKris

    KeithKris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you have the adb drivers or PC studio loaded?
     
  13. KeithKris

    KeithKris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Root gives you access to the unix root account on your device. If you don't know what that is, you'd probably be happier waiting a few weeks/months on this, the sharp edges will be lessened by then.

    Root is all powerful and allows you to do things that you might not otherwise have permission for. Generally if you don't know what root is, at this point, you probably shouldn't do it. People will come along with easier to follow tutorials in the future, but at this point, root is more for experimenters, at least on this handset. There's a reasonable chance that you could brick your phone with root, so you've been warned.
     
  14. justpastfinish

    justpastfinish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    Anyone know the code off hand to mount as rw.

    I can't find it and I'm going to delete a ton of crap like bejeweled and such...
     
  15. chibucks

    chibucks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    48
    all credit goes to zefie on ppcgeeks... :) hopefully this is a start to bigger and better things... :p
     
  16. danielg

    danielg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    I know the hero code, not sure if it's the same on the moment. I do not want to post it because I know somebody wont read and try it.

    On a side note, does this mean you were able to gain root access by following the instructions?
     
  17. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Interesting... I'm pretty decent at Linux but not going to risk my Moment until more early adopters have gotten this straightened out. :)
     
  18. fopp

    fopp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1 same here. can't wait
     
  19. Flipper

    Flipper Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm excited about just being able to delete all the stock Sprint apps once this gets off the ground... as well as being able to install apps direct to the SD card.
     
  20. fopp

    fopp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah like bejeweled demo. i mean, why would they even put that on there?
     
  21. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got the prompt but that is as far as i was comfortable going since i read theres a particular line where you write a file back if done wrong bricks your phone :( hopefully the 1clickroot master updates to include this. i really wanted to install the flac decoder.
    i have some questions.
    is there a chance we can get HTC sense ,cooked roms,google maps nav, app uninstaller?
    as for the cooked roms , it would take someone to port over to the moment or cynogen roms work only on HTC phones.
     
  22. fopp

    fopp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you mind explaining to me what a cooked rom is please?
     
  23. Warlock

    Warlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    2

    If its the same as the WinMo world. A cooked rom is a rom that has been built to have only specific apps installed when applied to the device. Such as stripping out the sprint apps, and the bejeweled app. When the phone is hard reset those apps don't come back..

    I have known some people to cook their contacts and any specific apps they want into a rom. That way if you have to hard reset you phone, you loose nothing.

    Also to confuse you even more. A cooked rom is built with a program that is called a kitchen.
     
  24. fopp

    fopp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so does that mean cooked roms are permanent and there is no flashing back to the phones original state?
     
  25. justpastfinish

    justpastfinish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    yes... I was trying to ADB while i was installing pc studio and pdanet... once both installed... worked fine.

    root still works after reboot as well... so nice...
     

Share This Page

Loading...