The Ongoing Signal Issue -- I have a theory....General


Last Updated:

  1. jsward12

    jsward12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    26
    Ok so I am one of the thousands having the signal issue with the phone. I noticed while in debug mode (##33284) that the Band # will jump from Sleep mode to CDMA. Could that be contributing to the weak and unstable signal issues with the phone? If so how do we change this?

    --Josh
     

    Advertisement
  2. jsward12

    jsward12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    26
    While on a call, signal strength varies from -79 to -86 and I am 2-3 bars. While the phone is idle, 0-1 bars signal strength....weird huh? Its definately not right as the lower signal kills the battery.....
     
  3. bsdbytes

    bsdbytes Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    I believe that's by design. You'll notice it matches the status of the 3G icon when there is no active data.
     
  4. alison03

    alison03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    11
    noob question: what do those numbers mean? I've found it in my phone but what's good and what's bad? :eek:
     
  5. answerman

    answerman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    46
    That's actually normal with a CDMA phone. It will look for a band/channel, find it, and then basically "rest" for a while. I've been looking at that FieldTrial screen for about 5 years through different phones, and they all do that.
     
  6. jsward12

    jsward12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    26
    Ahh good to know, this signal issue is very interesting though.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...