The Skype app is here..General


Last Updated:

  1. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299

    Advertisement
  2. RubberDucker

    RubberDucker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    12
    Doesn't Skype require 2.1? If so... more hope for the OTA getting here before the release...

    I know... I'm fueling the fire. I'm on the leak, so I'm already happy!

    I just replaced Nimbuzz with eBuddy and eBuddy doesn't so Skype, so it'll be nice to have the official app.
     
  3. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm wondering if this means we're getting 2.1 on Thursday...
     
  4. textstev

    textstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    I could of sworn there was an official skype a while back on 1.5 like around December. It sucked so I deleted it.
     
  5. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    No, the phones listed are getting the app the way they are right now. The Devour came out less than a month ago. The Devour, Droid, and Eris are not getting 2.1 within the next two days for a Skype app.
     
  6. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    The official skype app that you're thinking of did suck. I only used it for type chatting and even that was pretty bad. This new app is supposed to let you make calls to other skype users with just data and it won't use your minutes.

    I'm waiting for Google to do something similar with Google Voice. Come on, Google...*shakes fist angrily*
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I wonder if they plan to bundle this in with the OTA. It could be one of the unmentioned reasons the Droid OTA was pushed back.
     
  8. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    +1
     
  9. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    I don't recall saying that we'd get 2.1 because of the skype app. Nope, just re-read my post, doesn't say that anywhere.

    BUT, considering that Verizon has stated that we would get 2.1 by the end of Q1, and that 3/23 has been tossed around quite a bit, AND Verizon is actively standing behind Skype on 3/25, it sounds like it might not be a marketplace app, so perhaps it's rolled into the OTA.
     
  10. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Your post suggested that Skype would be the reason we got an OTA firmware update.

    Maybe I'm missing something but I doubt Verizon will lump Skype in with an update. It seems like that would make it part of one of those programs that you can't uninstall like Footprints. And that won't be a good thing.
     
  11. arock

    arock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am pretty sure I read online somewhere earlier today that it is getting pushed to blackberry's and will be available in the market for android devices.
     
  12. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I'm really hoping that it's as great app but I'd rather it be in the Marketplace and have the choice to uninstall if it turns out to be junk. Of course a rooted 2.1 would solve any of those issues.
     
  13. kissfan_88

    kissfan_88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    But looking at it this whole skype thing and the android marketplace, isnt there different versions of marketplace for the android os(2.0,1.6,1.5?), so wouldn't verizon have to release two different versions of skype for the the moto and eris?
     
  14. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    No, it will be fine. If it isn't compatible with your version, it just simply won't show in the Market.

    Which makes me think, since some apps are "protected," this might mean 2.1 adopters won't see Skype if it too is protected. VZW isn't expecting there to be Erises running 2.1.
     
  15. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
  16. smacky

    smacky Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Just a few more hours. Gonna be able to talk to aunts in Hong Kong and uncles in India on my cell. Yay.

    No, not really. We never call.
     
  17. Drew95376

    Drew95376 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any idea when App's are released? Thinking is the 25th now in New York :)
     
  18. Drew95376

    Drew95376 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just downloaded from market...Won't sign in to my account! Anyone else?

    Update: Works Now!
     
  19. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    Just tried to download Skype from Skype.com/mobile.

    Entered phone number > received text > followed link > got this message:

    "Sorry, Skype Mobile is not available for your phone. Switch to one of Verizon's best selling Blackberry and Android 3G smartphones."

    Eris is listed as one of the compatible phones on Verizon's Skype site: Verizon Wireless with Skype mobile
     
  20. enkode

    enkode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    It does not work with the 2.1 update "for me either". Got same text error and doesn't show in the market.

    *edit* just installed the new 2.1 update and i had the skype website send me a text. I got to the mobile page and it recognized the phone but still didnt download when searching for skype in the market. with the old 2.1 it didnt even recognize the phone... so i still dont have skype. :("
     
  21. justinr

    justinr Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    just downloaded skypemobile from the app market. works without 2.1... oddly, now that a new app is actually backwards compatible all the way to our lovely phones, i find it a bit depressing as it's simply less of a chance for a quicker update.
     
  22. bsutton1

    bsutton1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    13
    I've heard of Skype but what is it exactly?
     
  23. kamots

    kamots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    um just downloaded skype, but i dont know anyone overseas anymore, so im thinking that this is not the best app. mainly because all domestic call are routed through VZW if i understood correctly. might still be good for texting though.:rolleyes: I f i could talk friends an family into moving overseas, this would be perfect. I hear Ireland is nice this time of year lol.
     
  24. snakehn

    snakehn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    any way to get the installation file for those of us with 2.1?
     
  25. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Yes, domestic calls are all done using Verizon service and using your minutes. Also, it only works with 3G. If you try to sign on with WiFi active, it pops up a message asking of you want to turn off WiFi (may affect other applications, it says) or exit.

    I have a weak 3G signal here, so I use WiFi, but I'll try out the 3G later on today.
     

Share This Page

Loading...