The unanswered "How to unroot my HTC Droid Eris?" again on the forum...


Last Updated:

  1. pedromfc

    pedromfc New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello dear forum members,

    I've been looking for a easy way a newbie could unroot the HTC Dorid Eris from Verizon. I've tried looking for all related threads but none had a clear guide or step by step of how to do it without a PC or from a mac (my case here). Is there anyone still willing to provide such info? Thank you.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ErisDroid?

    ErisDroid? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
  3. ErisDroid?

    ErisDroid? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry for the second post, but I forgot to ask,

    Any particular reason you want to un-root?
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Since RUU only runs from a Windows PC, you could run it from Parallels or VMWare Fusion if you have windows running as a Virtual Machine on the Mac. Otherwise, I think that your best option is to download the "leak 3" 2.1 ROM and flash that from the bootloader.

    See this thread: http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/69688-htc-droid-eris-os-2-1v3-download.html
     
  5. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    theres a few ways, the PB00IMG.zip is easiest, or you can download this rom

    http://surrette.org/roms/Retro1-v1.zip

    and check for system updates. the updates will unroot your phone

    ive used both recently, just got TWO refurbs today-first didnt work, was screwing up within 3 blocks of the store-and i used the rom to unroot just before returning the first one.
     
    Outlaw.99, doogald and lukesdiesel like this.
  6. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have to do this on Thursday as Verizon has sent me a D1 to replace my Eris.
     
  7. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    :O

    i just got off the phone with verizon, the second refurb they gave me is crap too. they are sending me another one tomorrow
    thats THREE in one day!

    they said that they dont offer free upgrades anymore :'(


    i think i got gyped.
     
  8. pedromfc

    pedromfc New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    First, thank you for the help, and second, sorry for being absent for so long.

    I had rooted my Eris a month a go and I was running xtrROM3.0.3. And I always had tried to have a backup plan to unroot, but never found an easy answer (step by step guide for newbies). Then I decided to ask the question.

    At the same time, I downloaded the xtrROM 4.0.6.1 and saved on sd card. I don't know what happened when I turned off the phone an reboot by pressing and holding Vol-Up & End/Power at the same time. The custom recovery didn't came, instead I saw a question for updates. Now I have the HTC sense running! Does it means that I'm not rooted anymore? How can I be sure?

    Now a second question, in case I want to root again, every time I need to update to a new ROM, I do a wipe, and have to set up all my stuff again, an I find it annoying, and maybe one of the downsides for rooting for someone that really just needs a reliable phone that can check emails, send messages and check emails, and does not have a lot of time to play around with the updates. Is there anything that helps not having to setup account and so on every time?

    Thank you.
     
  9. heyjoojoo

    heyjoojoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    Once the root issue is fixed, you should go with KaosFroyo.
     
  10. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    I'm sorry andrizoid but I just want to make sure I understood correctly, so what ur saying is that if a flash this file like a would flash any other ROM, this WILL unrrot my phone (well my wife's phone)?
     
  11. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    after you apply the system updates, they will unroot your phone and restore the stock recovery partition.
     
    Batbriel likes this.
  12. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    So am I going to be in stock 2.1?
     
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,666
    Likes Received:
    22,022
    Batbriel,

    Not Andrizoid (but then again, who is? ;))...

    This is just an FYI reply.

    I must say, I was a bit intrigued and confused when I saw this. So I downloaded the .zip and looked at it, thinking that it might be one of the 2.1 leak ROMS. Turns out, its not. Its a 1.5 custom ROM cooked-up by gnarlyc over at XDA.

    Here's the dev's ROM thread: [ROM] Retro1 v2 - "Is it a Dream? No, it's a Freken Cupcake!" - xda-developers

    I believe (and I have no reason to doubt Andrizoid) that since its 1.5 and its version v1 of this particular ROM, that after you flash and boot it, it will cause an OTA update to be dropped to your phone from VZW (2.1? don't know for sure what version of the OTA it would be, but I do believe Andrizoid is right that the OTA would un-root you since I believe it will overwrite the recovery partition).

    This appears to be a third unrooting option with the other two being running the RUU and flashing the v3 2.1 leak PB00IMG.zip file. I won't pretend to know all of the rules regarding when what will work when (wow, 6 w's in a row :eek:) regarding un-rooting -- that's reserved for our esteemed erisuser1 :). I've read his unrooting posts to various folks and I still get confused, lol!

    Just wanted to provide a little info and context. Cheers!

    edit: I see that my post is unnecessary since Andrizoid has responded. Cheers!
     
    Batbriel likes this.
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,666
    Likes Received:
    22,022
    Hey, Andrizoid...this is pretty cool, actually! Put the onus on VZW to un-root folks, lol! :D
     
  15. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    lol

    you right about all that about the rom. it will apply the newest OTA, and revert it to 100% stock. it was an oversight on the rom devs part-he took it out in v2-but i kept v1 for this very reason
     
    Batbriel and scary alien like this.
  16. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    ok flashing now
     
  17. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    it is normal that it would stay on the HTC logo for a long time?
     
  18. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,666
    Likes Received:
    22,022
    Did it come back yet? Some ROMs take a bit to first start up...(no more than 10 minutes or so...).

    Also, I didn't see any wipe instructions in the dev's thread, but it probably wouldn't hurt do both a 'wipe factory/data reset' and 'wipe dalvik-cache'.
     
    Batbriel likes this.
  19. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    yes, it's working...downloading the OTA right now. I didn't wipe before flashing that's why it didn't work at first :D
     
    scary alien likes this.
  20. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,666
    Likes Received:
    22,022
    Glad its working! Good to have a third option available.

    Cheers and have a good one!
     
  21. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    sorry didn't work, it downloaded the OTA but when i was about to reboot it took me back to the recovery image and said that i was still at 1.5, don't know what to do now! :(
     
  22. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    odd. try fashing jcases misc image and using the PB00IMG
     
  23. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok fellas. I've been following along and have tried the exact same thing described here because I've got a replacement coming tomorrow and I'm not sure its worked. I rooted my eris using the one click method and have had no problems up till now. When i downloaded the retro Rom and flashed it I did a wipe on everything except the Battery and rotation just to be safe. Sure enough I was prompted to do a system update after reboot. But after I tapped install and the phone tried to reboot it says something about a signature not being recognized and was aborted and gives me the same screen I get when I hit the end and volume up button together. I rebooted and the phone now shows an HTC kernel and version 1.5 firmware and does not show a rooted phone under system updates heading. But I don't have the HTC weather clock widget and it still has wireless tether for rooted phones and shows superuser access in the apps. Am I ok or what has happened. I really don't care about the phone, just don't want any hassles returning it.
     
  24. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    your fine, your just running a 1.5 rom.

    try using jcases misc image like i mentioned a few posts up. that should allow you to use any of the PB00IMG zips
     
  25. Batbriel

    Batbriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    32
    This is excacly what happened to me,, so I will try to use jcases misc image, just I was traing to avoid that since I'm not comfortable whit comands as stuff :eek::)
     

Share This Page

Loading...