The Villain 5.4 upgrade thread


Last Updated:

  1. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    Wow, I don't check the forum for a few days and the whole Hero community appears to have rooted their handsets!! :eek::eek: Happy days :p:D

    I have a question :rolleyes:

    I'm using Villain5.2 and I see that Villain5.3 is out. I'd like to use Villain5.3 but I'm not sure if I have to re-install all of my apps again :confused:

    Can I just flash 5.3 over the top of 5.2 and thats all I have to do, or is there more to it? Will I need to "wipe"? etc

    Thx in advance ... :cool:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    It will probably work without a wipe. Just make sure you do a nandroid backup before you flash in case it doesn't.
     
  3. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    Will I need to do any App backups with Titanium?
     
  4. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    yep
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    If you have added apps since your last backup that is, if your last back up is the same as your current then no
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    If you flash 5.3 without a wipe all your apps will still be there.
     
  7. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    Just getting round to doing this now :rolleyes:

    I have done a Nandroid backup and I'm currently flashing 5.3 over the top of 5.2. We'll see what happens ...
     
  8. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    My 3G keeps losong connection, and I cant get wirless tether to work, anyone else experiencing this ?
     
  9. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Just a heads up to a few problems Ive encountered since i installed 5.3

    On making phone calls the Loud speaker does not seem to work that well.
    The volume seems to be very Low ( Ive checked my settings )

    Google Maps has me located approx two miles from were i live.
    Google Navigation seems to work apart from the fact its always searching for GPS with out any success.

    Anybody having these problems ?.
     
  10. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    LOL I made my thread 1 min before you :p... MOD merge please
     
  11. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Latest radio should fix the GPS issue
     
  12. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Loudspeaker on calls seems fine on mine.....so far.
    Haven't managed to link to gps yet, but haven't tried outside yet, only indoors which the old one did ok. New radio installed.
    Can't tell if apps2sd is working as not installed too many yet.
     
  13. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Don't use wireless tethering, so can't say, but I haven't had a 3g signal at all yet. It's always bad down here on Orange, but I used to get it here and there.
     
  14. Uranus

    Uranus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maps and Navigation work fine for me - however I updated radio straight after install as Jaffa mentions.

    One question I have is that some apps that previously worked or I expected to work are not on the market. Google Earth cant be found and I Music (which I previously had installed) cannot be found either.

    Anyone have any idea what the problem would be related to?

    cheers for any advice
    Ad
     
  15. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do we update to the latest radio?

    Also, I recently installed 5.2. Where can I get 5.3 from please?
     
  16. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
  17. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    Just ran speedtest app and my Hero switched from 3G to H on the second run. Just got 243.7 kB/s down and 47.2 kB/s up.

    Not too shabby :D
     
  18. MattGarner

    MattGarner Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems 5.4 is out now!
     
  19. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    I read he was working on it, but is it actually out ??
     
  20. MattGarner

    MattGarner Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. stoney73

    stoney73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    9
  22. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Jeeeeeez ! And I thought I did so well yesterday getting 5.3 on here !!

    :)

    Think I'll get used to 5.3 a bit first
     
  23. Doodylicious

    Doodylicious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    5.4 already, wow...only just flashed 5.3 when it got released. Oh well, flash time again! :D
     
  24. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Excellent work, 5.4 for me when I get home!

    Any one run the flash of 5.4 without a wipe yet?
     
  25. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91

Share This Page

Loading...