• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Themes

My goal is to try and make a theme I like by using different resources (images) out of other themes and throw them into a working mm theme control file. I tested this a little by using pieces from R1L and Ubuntu and it worked beautifully.

I am horrible a graphic design work but not so bad at image manipulation and layout so hopefully Ill be able to pull something together

Upvote 0
If some one has specific instructions, I'm a part time graphic designer. I can modify stuff or make new things, but I have no idea how the skins for these phones work. Let me know if you need some help.

What I have been trying is taking existing themes (RedFury's Ubuntu works good) as a base, and using the same control file.

You can extract a theme on your computer and edit the individual png files to your liking. The extracted theme will give you a myriad of small png files containing one piece of the whole theme.

Editing an existing theme is easy. I was able to change the app drawer and notification bar pngs VERY easily. I cant even imagine where you would begin making one from scratch. Since i am inept at photoshop/gimp I am just trying to assemble png files out of existing themes to make one SuperTheme using the best out of what I have available.

Upvote 0
A cool idea would for someone to make a "base theme" that is designed to be modified to make themes like how you guys are doing this. I think i might try this... :p

You mean like a template? Something that is coded for easy "plug and play" replacement of the demo graphics? Insert a new image with the same name and dimensions of the demo graphics and presto... you've got ThemeYOU!