Things "missing" from FroYo?


Last Updated:

  1. jmmaury

    jmmaury Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    As a number of people, myself included, look to have upgraded to FroYo (Android 2.2) there seems to be a number of things expected in the new software but seem to be missing.


    Scanning through the posts, here's what looks to be "missing":
    • Settings -> Privacy (for app backup purposes)
    • Answer in thread below
    • CarDock
    • Answer in thread below
    • Bluetooth voice dialling
    • Voice dialling in general(?)
    Are there any others? Can we put this to HTC for comment :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. eXpZA

    eXpZA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When locked, you used to be able to Push the power button and either slide down to Unlock or push Menu. 'Pushing menu' is no longer an option with 2.2, you have to slide down to Unlock :(

    Also, I'm not sure what's going on by my battery life is being DESTROYED. No AppKillers or anything.
     
  3. Falley

    Falley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    One thing I was really looking forward to in 2.2 was Bluetooth voice dialling (Cardock too). Some others have mentioned it in this thread.

    Does anyone know why it's been left out? Or if it's a 'hidden' option somewhere?
     
  4. robobobo

    robobobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Itunes sync also appears to be missing
     
  5. afonja

    afonja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    7
    Didn't they mention that you will be able to sync with iTunes using PC based software(has anyone tried HTC Sync for that?), not the phone app?
     
  6. afonja

    afonja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    7
    Actually typing now this message from my desire I cannot see dictionary suggestions anymore and it's laggy...
     
  7. partridge

    partridge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    57
    Are you all sure your update was from a legit source and not one that was configured for a particular network where those features were removed?

    Apparently that's one of the things phone companies do with new firmware; check it for stuff that doesn't apply to their region or that they don't support.

    Maybe the one you've got has already been doctored?
     
  8. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    When I go to Add widget > Get more HTC widgets the list is the same except it says Profile and Ringtone are 'Installed,' but I can't see any way to add them to any screens. When you select either one, the only options are 'Uninstall' and 'Details' (when you select uninstall it says "The Home screen will be reset after the update is complete" and then nothing happens and the options are still Uninstall and Details). They do not appear on the Add widget list, whereas the Notes widget does (I installed this one when I was on 2.1, but I never installed Profile or Ringtone myself).
     
  9. Lagerstars

    Lagerstars Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im gonna see how the battery life goes, but my battery life also seems to have been slashed since upgrading.
    I'll give it a few more days to see what happens tho
     
  10. Mushhushshu

    Mushhushshu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24

    These widgets are under add widget then settings on my unofficial rom, are they there on the official one?
     
    mjpartyboy likes this.
  11. Si Pie

    Si Pie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    23
    There's a settings widget for car dock but no way to start the app up as far as I can see.
     
  12. diS

    diS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yes, they are under settings on the official one.
     
  13. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    What has happened to the Privacy section that used to in the Settings menu? This is where the backup to SD option could be enabled and disabled, but I can't find privacy or this option on 2.2.
     
  14. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    HTC's enhanced Caller ID
     
  15. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    I don't think the new features appear until you receive a call.
     
  16. PeterCardiff

    PeterCardiff New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've sent a message to HTC Support asking them where Voice Dialing has gone! I await a reply - might take a few days....

    I was looking forward to having voice dialing on my Desire but for some reason the UK / European update to Android 2.2 has this feature removed.

    I can only guess that HTC have removed it because of language barriers in the speech recognition software. Most speech recognition is based on an American accent, so to prevent a major problem in the UK and Europe I think HTC have removed it.

    Once I have a reply from HTC I'll post it here. (I don't hold my breath).

    But on this subject - does anyone know of a good app to download for voice dialing? I've tried Choice Dialer, although it will start up the app from the Bluetooth headset call button - it is hopeless at recognising whom I'm asking it to dial. I have a 0% success rate - once again I think it's the British accent it can't handle. If I could do an american accent I'd try it but I can't.

    As for battery life - mine has improved. Overall speed has also improved. I did a benchmark test before upgrading and afterwards and the speed had doubled.
     
  17. stuball89

    stuball89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    9

    Slightly crude work around;
    Make sure your settings are searchable (menu>settings>search..) then hit the search button and key In privacy.
    It'll probably be hidden at the very end of the list.
     
    jmmaury, gie62001 and mjpartyboy like this.
  18. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thanks for the tip. That's what I did to find it in the end. It seems a bit of a silly change to hide the privacy settings.
     
  19. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    i know what it is but even then this feature doesn't seem to appear.
    but i think i know why as i haven't signed up my facebook yet:
    Our next-generation Caller ID

    When someone calls you, your Caller ID doesn't just tell you their name and number any more - it tells you useful stuff like their Facebook
     
  20. Klaynos

    Klaynos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am kinda disappointed that I don't seem to be able to find the car panel... Does anyone know anything about this?
     
  21. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    84
     
  22. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    I was able to do that before
     
  23. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    84

    Ah ok I've never noticed it before,ignore me.:D:D
     
  24. lovinit

    lovinit Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I reckon it's due to being rushed out to beat some of the other manufacturers who are lining it up. Maybe we will get a small sense update soon????
     
  25. runamonk

    runamonk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    22
    I noticed this today and frankly it's my favorite fix/feature of Froyo so far. Seemed fairly stupid that a slide lock could be bypassed by accidently pushing a menu button hehe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...