Think the standard Droid will handle 2.2 and flash?


Last Updated:

  1. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    Been an increasing amount of talk lately about Froyo (2.2) and how it will have flash and all that jazz. I use a non-rooted, standard rom Droid, andd I'm wondering how well it will handle all of these impromements. I assume the newer android devices with their gHz processors will do fine, but how do you think us Droid users will fair?

    And don't just say it can handle it :p I know it will work, but how weel is my question
     

    Advertisement
  2. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    That's a sort of impossible to answer question. The Droid might not be clocked at 1Ghz stock like the very latest phones, but it's still no slouch. The number of phones that are faster you could count on one hand. If Adobe isn't able to get Flash to run smoothly on the Droid, then what about all the other earlier generation Android phones, and Blackberries? They'd pretty much be losing out on 95% of the smartphone market.
     
  3. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    I guess it would depend a lot on Adobe's goal, whether or not flash for a mobile device is optimized enough for less powerful smartphones, or if the experience would be so watered down that the only point would be to get it on newer, more powerful phones.

    I wonder if flash is made to be on future smartphones mostly. Besides, encourages people to buy new phones :p
     
  4. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
  5. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    I had seen it displayed on the nexus, but not on the droid. The videos seem to run fine, I think what I'm more worried about is sites that have lots of animations going on, rather than movies. Looks cool though, no doubt.
     
  6. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    If rooting is an option for you, the Droid's processor takes very well to being overclocked. Mine is at 1.2ghz and perfectly fine. Benchmarks better than the Incredible.
     
  7. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    My DROID's been running at 1G or higher (currently 1.25) for MONTHS! This processor is a real workhorse! :cool: I can't, for the life of me, understand why they have it running at 550 out-of-the-box. We previously speculated that they wanted better battery life out of it. But mine runs at 1G to 1.25G without very much of a difference regarding battery performance.
     
  8. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    That's odd that there's not a big battery usage difference... do you ever monitor to see how often it jumps up that high?
     
  9. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    The root kernals adjust cpu clock speed based on demand. You set them up how you want them. Mine, for example, will run anywhere between 250mhz and 1200mhz when I'm using it, and 250 to 550 while in standby. This pretty much means it spends the majority of the time at 250mhz, but immediately ups the clock speed if you need it.
     
  10. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yea, that's what I was asking about. Do you ever monitor to see how often it's actually running up so high?
     
  11. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Not really. Why would you need to? I assume you're trying to say that if you had it running at 1200mhz all the time the battery life would go to hell, which is very possible. Since that it not the case it doesn't really matter.

    I'm pretty sure if you looked at a graph it would spend most of the time sitting at 250mhz, then suddenly spike up to 1200mhz as you flip through homescreens and open apps, then back down to 250mhz, up to 1200 as you scroll down a web page, back down to 250 or 550, and so on.
     
  12. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    Adobe has already stated Flash 10.1 will not be coming to phones of lesser hardware than the Droid. They will get Flash Lite...Droid and N1 will be the first to get Flash 10.1, then any newer phones with fast enough processors (read : Incredible, etc)...
     
  13. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    I was more interested as a curisity. I monitor the cpu clocking of my desktop for a few reasons. I suppose I'm interested in which processes make it spike up *shrug*
     
  14. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    I'm not actually sure if there's a way to log the CPU clock speed. CPU% maybe, but that's not gonna be very useful if the clock speed is jumping around. I'd say pretty much any interaction with the phone will cause the clock speed to spike but then it immediately drops again when it's not needed. So the clock speed would probably jump as you are scrolling through something and then drop immediately when you stop.

    When you have the SetCPU program open (the one that allows you to set clock speeds) you can see the current clock speed in the top left and it will jump up and down as you go through menu options so I'm not basing this just on guessing.
     
  15. Droidmaniac

    Droidmaniac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Aside from SetCPU saying that's at 1.25G, is the difference in speed noticeable? If so, how can you tell?
    I can set mine as 600 and mess around with it, then push it to 1.2G and mess with it -- no difference that I can tell.
     
  16. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Yes there is a very noticeable difference for me. Faster scrolling in web pages. Faster launching and switching between applications. Faster scrolling between home screens, especially if a live wallpaper is involved.
     
  17. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    MUCH faster. Try setting SetCPU to performance when you crank it. you will definitely see the difference. For Quick proof try the benchmarks in system info at 600 and 1200.
     

Share This Page

Loading...